Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello Well I am a newbie to any *modern* distro of linux. I have so far tried to run Peanut Linux. (A relativly "small" distro at 341mb per image) and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Iso Bloat, What Happened?

Hello

Well I am a newbie to any *modern* distro of linux. I have so far tried to
    run Peanut Linux. (A relativly "small" distro at 341mb per image) and a "Live CD image" of Knoppix Debian "Damn Small Linux" (around 40mb)
    Which I like.

The truth is I entered into the evil empire (Became a windoze user) a number of years ago, and at that time operating systems were often packs of utilities and boot floppies. I like Linux because it does retain this philosophy to some extent. I am currently looking into Debian Linux as this involves a base image (180mb) and you can add on to that as you wish.

But I do have a big problem with this 650mb single download stuff. And the solutions so far that are on offer. I mean having just endured the process of obtaining and installing Windoze XP (I hate it) and Visual Studio . Net (I despise it) with those packs of CDs that will be obselete in 3 months time, and will require either "updates" or buying stuff anew. I decided to switch to linux. All those nice, well documented Goodies I can get from the GNU website were too tempting.

So yes I came to linux, as somene who used Unix years ago with probably a degree of rosy eyed belief in the way distribution may be now.

But sadly. So Far I have had problem with the idea of having to download huge isos and in one case isos that are "Personal" and "trial" editions of some distro that will be going or is going commercial. Distros that would take up 2 gig of drive space in one case. Or the much more realistic, and ethical GNU stuff which is wonderful but way too fiddly to download. And use. I need help with that.