Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I'm kinda new to Linux - I installed this system, Debian 2.2.20, about a year ago and have used it sparingly every few months. I keep hearing about how ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Crashes

Hi,
    I'm kinda new to Linux - I installed this system, Debian 2.2.20, about a year ago and have used it sparingly every few months. I keep hearing about how stable and fast the Gnu/Linux OS is but I am yet to witniss any proof of this, as my system keeps crashing (seemingly at random times, giving no response to ctrl+alt+backspace or ctrl+alt+f(n)) and takes forever to start even the simplest of applications. I suspected it was a problem with the graphics; I've read about others who have had problems with ATI cards and that XFree86 4.1.0.1 isn't a stable version. Now my question is really: where exactly should I start looking for the problem? I've already looked through pretty much all the files in the /var/log directory for any indications of kernel panic messages and the like but haven't found anything obvious. I can upload my dmesg and other info onto a website and post the links in a moment, but I'd much rather have someone point me in the right direction for how to investigate problems like this rather than wasting someone else's time.
    Thanks

<edit> Now I ran into even worse problems; about 20 minutes ago I was sitting there peacefully reading a manual page about XF86Config-4 when suddenly I got an error of:

Bank 3: f20000000002010a
    Kernel panic: CPU context corrupt
    In swapper task - not syncing

I now get different kernel panics every time I try to boot linux, I can't explain what causes them because I haven't installed *anything* for days.
    This is one of my old dmesg's that I saved:
    http://members.lycos.co.uk/atarax/docs/dmesg.txt

how stable is your hardware?

Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu