Find the answer to your Linux question:
I haven't currently got a version of Linux but Im wanting to get one but I don't know what one to get, any suggestions . I am fed-up with windows, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

I am a newbie and would appreciate some advice

I haven't currently got a version of Linux but Im wanting to get one but I don't know what one to get, any suggestions. I am fed-up with windows,
    But will windows based game work on Linux, if not can I get patches?
    Drivers - Are most components usable with Linux even if I have to download new ones?

Any sort of advice would be useful.

Regards,

David.

Linux is about choice, and there are quite a few choices out there. Redhat,SuSe, Mandrake are good first distros and support most hardware and peripeherals. Many drivers that are not present with the install can be found. Wine,winex make it possible to run games and Winblowz programs with Linux.Generally the above mentioned distros are relatively easy to install. You could be running Linux within about an hour from start of install.
    Me & Myself just ganged up on I....... Now We all have problems..and none of Us are speaking!
    bash-3.00$ uname -a
    SunOS sparky 5.11 OpenSolaris-swa sun4u sparc SUNW,Ultra-Enterprise

check out wine and its ability to allow ytou to run Windows programs under Linux.

have fun

Nerderello

Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

Linux Newbie
    I say forget about Wine or Winex, look for games that is written for Linux.
    The same suggestion about programs.

ie;Photoshop---->Gimp
    Just a Newbie....Looking 4 Info....

Take a look at this too!

http://www.unrealtournament.com/
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

flw
    Linux Engineer