Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
how come the resolution setting for my ubuntu has only two choises and both are small ones with windows you can choose from lots but why carnt i with linux??? ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    west yorks in England
    Posts
    29

    Unhappy Display Resolution help ...why's?


    how come the resolution setting for my ubuntu has only two choises and both are small ones

    with windows you can choose from lots but why carnt i with linux???

    Tatton.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    you can add more choices by editing /etc/X11/xorg.conf file.

    post its contents.





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    west yorks in England
    Posts
    29

    Unhappy

    e

    ermm can you help just a little bit more sorry

    Tatton.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer Thrillhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arlington, VA, USA
    Posts
    1,377
    Your xorg.conf file is where your resolution is defined. devils_casper was asking you to post what is contained in that file so we can help you add new resolutions. Try running this command:

    Code:
    cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    and post the output here.

  6. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    okk !

    open xorg.conf file...

    sudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    look for DefaultDepth line... it should be

    Code:
    DefaultDepth	24
    now look for

    Code:
    SubSection "Display"
    		Depth		24
    in this section, modes line should be

    Code:
     Modes		"1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    if there is not any section having depth 24, then add it.

    Code:
    SubSection "Display"
    		Depth		24
    		Modes		"1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    add this code before EndSection of Section "Screen"

    reboot after editing.



    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    west yorks in England
    Posts
    29

    Question

    so in the modes bit i enter the screen resolution i want to have as a selection ??

    thanks

    Tatton

  8. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    first of all system checks the value of DefaultDepth. then it add all the Modes listed under that depth. if you add Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480" or more, you will have choice to select anyone of those.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    west yorks in England
    Posts
    29

    Smile

    ok ta m8t

    THANK YOU VERY MUCH AGAIN

    Tatton

  10. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    you are Welcome Tatton !
    if you find anything confusing, post contents of xorg.conf file.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •