Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
Hi all, I'm not totally new to Linux,just dabbled with Puppy and DSL. But this is a question about Austrumi. No problems starting it.This must have been the fastest setup ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    18

    Questions about Austrumi v1.3.1


    Hi all,

    I'm not totally new to Linux,just dabbled with Puppy and DSL.
    But this is a question about Austrumi.
    No problems starting it.This must have been the fastest setup I ever had.Running off live CD.
    In 6 min flat I had D/L it,burned the ISO,even verified the files
    and booted to desktop.Looks nice too.
    Is quick from what I've tried.
    The ony problem is that the GUI is a mixture of Latvian and English.
    I'm sure Latvian is a beautiful language,but I don't understand it worth a darn.
    Does anybody know if there is a full English version?
    Also,does it support dual monitors? or is there something I could install to do this?
    My XP setup uses ATI HydraVision.I doubt it will run under Austrumi.
    Thanks for any informative answers.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    i dont know about Dual Monitor option in Astrumi but there is a option in Menu to change Default Language. set it to English.








    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    18
    Thanks casper,

    I was looking for that,but because the main menus are in Latvian,
    I did not find it sofar.
    Granted,some submenus are in English,but some are not and some are mixed.
    The same with the applications,which makes it hard to find a specific setting.
    I'll have to do another good scout-around to find this particular option and see if it covers the whole setup.
    Failing that, I may contact the developer regarding this and also about imported graphics drivers settings.

    Because it runs so well ,I would really like to try it out some more.
    Anyway,thanks again.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    in Menu, 'Icons' of Language Options are somewhat like 'Countries Flags'. click on 'British' Flag Icon.







    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    18
    Well casper, you were right.(Of course you were )
    What I didn't tell you before,was that the desktop was set by default (Austrumi's default) to the highest resolution of the monitors.
    So in addtion to the foreign language,the text was extremely small,which made it even harder to find the settings.

    Once I set the resolution to a more comfortable level,
    I was able to find the language setting.
    Then set everything to English default.
    I like their menu system.I'm not 100% sure of all the settings
    but in time I'll find out.

    The only thing that is not working quite right is internet access for Firefox.
    One of the reasons (it says) is possibly my firewall settings,but I don't really know how to access my XP files (and Firewall) from Austrumi (if that is even possible).

    Would you have any idea how to tackle that?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Austrumi automounts all partitions including NTFS and FAT32 in /mnt folder. XP files must be in /mnt folder.
    regarding FireWall, Open FireFox and check the Internet and Networking links. is there any entry for 'Firewall'? i dont think Austrumi uses any. i could be wrong... i have to check this.






    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    18
    Hi casper,
    You give great advice.
    I did find the XP files,but have no access.(must be permissions.)
    I'll find out what's causing this.
    Also I found out that there is a firewall in Austrumi,called "voarti".
    Have not tried all the settings yet.
    I'll have to go right now,but will keep you posted
    in the next day or 2.

    Thanks again.
    Pete.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    thanx for compliment !
    i will check FireWall ( 'voarti' ) settings.
    if your XP partitions are NTFS then you will have read only permissions. all Linux Distros support read only access for NTFS. you can install ntfs-3g package for NTFS write access. it works perfectly in Austrumi.






    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    18
    Hi casper,

    Well I'm back.Thanks for the added input.
    You'll be happy to know that I got it working fine now.
    The Firefox issue was due to firewall and network settings.
    Once I got that solved,she's "flying"
    As to accessing my other drives with XP,once I got your info about mnt, there was no problem.
    I can access both,FAT and NTFS partitions.
    For NTFS I just gave myself (user) all permissions,read,write and execute.It was already available in Austrumi.
    I set the buttons,but haven't tried to write or execute,but if it does't work,I'll certainly try ntfs-3g.
    Actually I found it quite exciting to be able to explore every nook and cranny of XP via Austrumi

    The only drawback with running off the CD,is that you can't save any settings,so when I start up,I have to reset language etc.
    But it's so fast,that even doing that,it still beats XP in boot time.

    So the next thing is to install it and set all my preferences,save them and if I want to have an Engish CD,just create another ISO and burn it or install it on a USB flash drive.

    Thanks for all your help.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi DutchieLNX!
    Wlecome back .....

    i am glad everything worked out. you can install Austrumi along with Windows. dual boot...







    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •