Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
I already had XP Pro installed on my C: and no other partitions were made the whole 160GB was running just Windows so with Partition magic I created a 12GB ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Provo, Utah
    Posts
    11

    Fedora 6 and XP Pro Dual Boot


    I already had XP Pro installed on my C: and no other partitions were made the whole 160GB was running just Windows so with Partition magic I created a 12GB partition for Fedora 6 and the partition was done correctly and everything worked and then I installed Fedora and that was installed flawlessly and is running 100% stable. But now XP Pro won't boot, in the Fedora boot menu it shows "Fedora Core 6" and "Other" so I pick "Other" and my system just sits there and won't boot anything. Anybody had this happen that can help?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    did Partition Magic decativate Windows Partition? did you install Boot Magic?







    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Provo, Utah
    Posts
    11
    I don't think it did, it didn't say that. I did the install another OS wizard in Partition Magic. What is Boot Magic? I made Fedora the default os to load.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    I did the install another OS wizard in Partition Magic.
    this Wizard deactivates Windows Partitions. Boot Magic is Partition Magic's Boot Loader like Fedora's GRUB and it activates Windows after Linux installation.

    boot up Fedora, login as root and execute 'fdisk /dev/hda' in terminal/konsole.
    press 'a' and type 1. press 'w' to quit.

    exit and reboot. check if windows booting up now. in case, it doesn't work, post the output of 'fdisk -l' command and contents of /boot/grub/grub.conf file.






    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Provo, Utah
    Posts
    11
    ok man, I'll try this when I get home today, thanks a lot.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Provo, Utah
    Posts
    11
    Ok, this is what I typed in: fdisk /dev/hda a1
    This is what it is showing now:

    Usage: fdisk [-b SSZ] [-u] DISK Change partition table
    fdisk -l [-b SSZ] [-u] DISK List partition table(s)
    fdisk -s PARTITION Give partition size(s) in blocks
    fdisk -v Give fdisk version
    Here DISK is something like /dev/hdb or /dev/sda
    and PARTITION is something like /dev/hda7
    -u: give Start and End in sector (instead of cylinder) units
    -b 2048: (for certain MO disks) use 2048-byte sectors



    It still won't boot XP Pro.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    no ! you dont have to type 'a1' with command.
    execute 'fdisk /dev/hda' and press 'Enter' key
    press 'a' at fdisk's prompt. it will ask for partition number. press '1'.
    press 'w' to apply changes and exit.









    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4
    I have XP pro same as him to. I was wandering where do I pick the boot magic thing so I don't miss it in the installation.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by Techson
    I have XP pro same as him to. I was wandering where do I pick the boot magic thing so I don't miss it in the installation.
    dont use Partition Magic. download GParted LiveCD, burn .iso image to disc and boot from it. resize partition. dont foemat newly created space. leave it as unpartitioned/free.
    during installation, select 'Unpartitioned/free space for install'. dual boot is default in all Linux distros.
    GParted has Graphical User Interface and its free, only 30MB size, very easy to use.
    if you are planning to install Fedora Core, check this link too.





    Good Luck !
    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Provo, Utah
    Posts
    11
    When I type in "fdisk /dev/hda" it says "unable to open /dev/hda".

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •