Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm new to linux and all I want to do is to have root access in ssh so that I can install a program. I have googled, searched forums, asked ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unhappy Supposedly very simple question!

I'm new to linux and all I want to do is to have root access in ssh so that I can install a program. I have googled, searched forums, asked questions, got the Linux Phrasebook to see if this would work... The thing is, with every single forum and even with this book I bought, is that they expect you to be able to log in and switch users to root automatically, and I even have the code to do this. But my MAIN problem is, is that when I log in with my user name and password, (which also works in ftp) and I run a command none of them are recognized... I can log in but nothing works! I am stuck at square one and would like to learn more about this, but I am stuck and I can't get past 1st base! Can someone really break it down for me how to get root access? I mean simple like 1+1=2, put the car in reverse and step lightly on the pedal, oh, I have a good one. To make cereal, put cereal into a bowl and pour milk on top of it. THat's how simple I would like someone to explain this to me... I mean, for some reason, I can't log in as root or su to root and it's driving me crazy! I logged into my control panel and changed the root password and everything!

Just Joined!
    Try typing "su -" instead of just "su"

Just Joined!

Angry

Ok, I have another question: Do I use an ssh terminal to do all of my linux coding? That is what I have been doing so far. In my ssh terminal the first line says the last login time date, ect. Then the second line says:

bash-3.00$

then anything I type it says bash: $: command not found

If I try to login with root as the username and the password I assigned to root, it says password incorrect.