Find the answer to your Linux question:
Ok im a dumb newb and i made a really dumb mistake ok i have been trying to get rid of linux and put windows back on well i was ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

I Made A Big Mistake!!!!!! HELP!!!!!!!!!!!

Ok im a dumb newb and i made a really dumb mistake ok i have been trying to get rid of linux and put windows back on well i was stupid and i went in linux's fdisk and deleted my number one linux pation. So now it won't load all the way cuz it's missing stuff and i can't get windows 98se back on it cuz everytime i try to make a dos partion (even when linux was running right) it wouldn't work so i need a way to clear my hardrive totaly so i can put windows. Please someone help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Just Joined!
    what partition did you delete? /boot / or the windows98?
    can't you just use a windows boot-disk to delete all Non-Dos partitions? and then install everything again?

Linux Engineer
    if you have a knoppix CD or a rescue floppy, you can boot one of those and use linux fdisk to remove the rest of the linux partitions and reinstall win98se.... M$ fdisk can't see *nix partitions for some reason, so you have to use the linux fdisk to remove those partitions.. also, after you do that, you'll have to execute 'fdisk /mbr' to put the windows bootloader back in the MBR....
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!