Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
I've just created a new ext3 partition, how should I edit the /etc/fstab file to mount it the right way? Thanks....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    18

    Question Mounting a new ext3 partition


    I've just created a new ext3 partition, how should I edit the /etc/fstab file to mount it the right way?
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    create mount point for new partition, open /etc/fstab file
    Code:
    sudo mkdir /media/new_p
    sudo gedit /etc/fstab
    and add this line in /etc/fstab file
    Code:
    /dev/<new_partition>    /media/new_p     ext3    defaults,umask=0 0 0
    press 'Enter' key at the end of this line. Last line should be blank in 'fstab' file.






    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    18

    Thumbs down

    I've done it and then tried to 'mount sda3', but had an error about sda3 not listed in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab. What's wrong? Should I reboot?
    I've checked, if I saved my edits, fortunately.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    post the contents of /etc/fstab file and output of 'fdisk -l' command.







    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    18
    /etc/fstab/:
    Code:
    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
    proc            /proc           proc    defaults        0       0
    # /dev/hda1
    UUID=02c74b1f-fcd3-4777-851d-f15686d769a8 /               ext3    defaults,errors=remount-ro 0       1
    # /dev/hdb2
    UUID=b686bf9c-4904-11db-8a1c-83a57722edfc /media/hdb2     ext3    defaults        0       2
    # /dev/sda1
    UUID=9A44F7C48C2C597E /media/sda1     ntfs    defaults,nls=utf8,umask=007,gid=46 0       1
    # /dev/sda5
    UUID=A45053035052DC1C /media/sda5     ntfs    defaults,nls=utf8,umask=007,gid=46 0       1
    # /dev/hda2
    UUID=4ac46b4c-eb5b-4033-85e8-6cb50e13400f none            swap    sw              0       0
    /dev/hdd        /media/cdrom0   udf,iso9660 user,noauto     0       0
    /dev/sda3    /media/music     ext3    defaults,umask=0 0 0
    fdisk -l:
    Code:
    Диск /dev/sdb: 40.0 ГБ, 40000536576 байт
    255 головок, 63 секторов/дорожку, 4863 цилиндров
    Единицы = цилиндры по 16065 * 512 = 8225280 байт
    
    Устр-во Загр     Начало       Конец       Блоки   Id  Система
    /dev/sdb1               1        4863    39062016    c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    The same as above, translated to engish by me :
    Code:
    Disc /dev/sdb: 40.0 ГБ, 40000536576 байт
    255 heads, 63 sectors/дорожку, 4863 cylinders
    Единицы = cylinders by 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
    Device Load     Begin       End       Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdb1               1        4863    39062016    c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)

    sdb1 is my player

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    its confusing. how many Harddisks are plugged in? did you commented entries of hda, hdb and sda yourself in fstab file?

    output of fdisk is showing only one HardDisk ( sdb ).
    is this complete output of 'fdisk'? if yes, then second HardDisk ( sda ) is not plugged-in correctly and OS is not recognizing it.







    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie felipe1982's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    164
    Quote Originally Posted by GolerGkA
    I've done it and then tried to 'mount sda3', but had an error about sda3 not listed in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab. What's wrong? Should I reboot?
    I've checked, if I saved my edits, fortunately.
    NO:
    mount sda3
    YES:
    sudo mount /dev/sda3

  9. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by felipe1982
    NO:
    mount sda3
    YES:
    sudo mount /dev/sda3
    did you check the output of 'fdisk' command posted by GolerGkA
    there isn't any sda3 partition listed in output.






    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    18
    All discs working, playing music from sda5 right now, fortunately sdb isn't the only one.
    Code:
    $ sudo mount /dev/sda3
    mount: неверный тип ФС, неверная опция, неверный суперблок
           на /dev/sda3, отсутствует кодовая страница или другая ошибка
           В некоторых случаях полезная информация может быть
           найдена в syslog - попробуйте dmesg | tail или что-то
           в этом роде
    my translation:
    Code:
    $ sudo mount /dev/sda3
    mount: incorrect FS type, incorrect option, incorrect superblock
           /dev/sda3 - no coding page or other error
           In some cases useful information can be
           found in syslog - try dmesg | tail or smth like that

  11. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    i can't suggest you anything unless you post the 'complete' output of 'fdisk -l' command.







    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •