Find the answer to your Linux question:
This is more of a windows xp question I think, but I'll ask it anyway. I have a RH8 box running Samba as a PDC for my Windows XP clients. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux User

XP and Samba - Annoying problem SOLVED

This is more of a windows xp question I think, but I'll ask it anyway.

I have a RH8 box running Samba as a PDC for my Windows XP clients. I have everything set-up pretty well except for one problem. No one on the windows boxes can install any fonts. when opening the fonts folder the usual font specific menu options are not there. Dragging fonts into the folder does not register them. I have created a group on the linux box and added my users into it then added this group to the domain admins option in the smb.conf. The users can install hardware, software etc and are set with local administrative rights on the clients.

I have checked for an option in the local security policy and cannot find one.

The only thing strange thing that I did was to create a default user profile in the NETLOGON share of the SAMBA server using the default user profile from one of the clients. I did this coz my roaming user profiles weren't working.

Any ideas? All help appreciated as it is really annoying. Our company logo uses an obscure font which I need to get access to.

Thanks in advance

Kris

Edit -
    Solved. Problems with desktop.ini hidden files in roaming user profiles. These files govern the customisation of the explorer shell thingy.

Just Joined!