Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new to Linux, dont know the first thing about it although i have been working with computers for 20 years or so. I would be thankful if anyone ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

willing to try linux

I am new to Linux, dont know the first thing about it although i have been working with computers for 20 years or so. I would be thankful if anyone can help me with some questions i have

what is the easyest linux os for beginner ?
    will i need diferrent software,for instance WORD, AV SOFTWARE,FIREWALL,COPY TOOLS, CD BURNING TOOLS etc.?

I am at present still using xp but would love to try linux so all help would be greatly appreiciated

Thanks

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums, theheater

Take a look at the link in my signature for lots of information on getting started with Linux.

oz
    oz

There is no easiest per say, it all depends on preference. I would recommend Ubuntu to start out with though. What software YOU need can only be answered by one person.
    'Tis better to be silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.'
    --Abraham Lincoln

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    My recommendation is to try Puppy Linux. If you have a DVD burner in your computer you can burn a copy of Puppy onto a multisession DVD and then save any changes to that same DVD. Use it over and over without installing anything on your hard drive. This is a very convenient way to try Linux without any installation issues.
    You can do the same thing on a multisession CD-R but you can't use it as many times before it gets filled up.

Just Joined!
    i would recommend that you try kubuntu (thats ubuntu with KDE visit www.kubuntu.com and www.KDE.org for more info) in fact i would say anything with KDE as the gui is more windows like