Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I just installed Slackintosh 11.0 (PowerPC port of Slackware). When I start it, it is in text mode. How do I start KDE? Or any other window manager... Furthermore, how ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    13

    Question How do I start KDE?


    I just installed Slackintosh 11.0 (PowerPC port of Slackware). When I start it, it is in text mode. How do I start KDE? Or any other window manager...

    Furthermore, how do I get it to start up by default every time the system boots?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    Furthermore, how do I get it to start up by default every time the system boots?
    Good question

    I just installed Slackintosh 11.0 (PowerPC port of Slackware). When I start it, it is in text mode. How do I start KDE? Or any other window manager...
    I type 'telinit 4', but others like 'startx'.
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    13
    Okay, I got the message that it is trying to start the X11 session manager. How long is it suposed to take? I know this is not a slow computer...

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    How long took it?

    I dunno much about Slackintosh, but it should not take very long... even on older computers.
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    13
    It was taking forever, so I gave up and tried to use startx. Then the screen went black, then back to the console and gave me the error "no screen" and "no driver".

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    you have to edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf file and set correct Resolution/Refresh rates. i dont know about any command utility that automates this process.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    13

    Question What about xorg?

    OK, got KDE started. But how to I change the resolution in xorg.conf? I need much better than it currently is. It seems like 640 x 480. I need something like 2048 x 1536, or at least 1600 x 1200. Also, I need the refresh rate to be like 85 Hz. Can anyone Describe to me how to edit the file so that I can achieve this?

    Thanks

  9. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    open /etc/X11/xorg.conf file in your favorite editor ( nano. pico or vi ).
    add new Modes in Mode lines and set Correct/Supported Refresh rates ( HorizSync and VertRefresh ) under Monitor Section.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •