Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm trying to change my external hard drive permissions so that I can write to it as well, every time I try chmod (or going through nautilus) it gives me ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

External Hard Drive Permission

I'm trying to change my external hard drive permissions so that I can write to it as well, every time I try chmod (or going through nautilus) it gives me the error of "read-only system file". Any ideas on how to change this? I'm a newbie still so I'll probably need detailed instructions if it requires using the text editors or what not. Thanks

jmadero

Just Joined!

Fstab

check your /etc/fstab line that mounts the external drive (possibly /dev/sd?) and ensure that it does not include 'ro' in the "options" column (the 4th column) - if it does unmount the drive, remove the 'ro' and then remount and you should be able to add write access using chmod as you have been.

Quote Originally Posted by jmadero
    I'm trying to change my external hard drive permissions so that I can write to it as well, every time I try chmod (or going through nautilus) it gives me the error of "read-only system file". Any ideas on how to change this? I'm a newbie still so I'll probably need detailed instructions if it requires using the text editors or what not.
    Most Linux Distros do not support NTFS write access out of box. Chmod works for Linux native FileSystems only.

Post the output of fdisk -l command and contents of /etc/fstab file here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    leomburke is correct. In fact, your best bet is to use the mount option 'rw' (read/write), even if 'ro' (readonly) isn't there.

Quote Originally Posted by Cabhan
    eomburke is correct. In fact, your best bet is to use the mount option 'rw' (read/write), even if 'ro' (readonly) isn't there.