Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am a bit of a beginner when it comes to Linux, so I was a clueless when my DamnSmallLinux installation failed. I downloaded the .iso from their website: dsl ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Problem booting kernel in DSL.

I am a bit of a beginner when it comes to Linux, so I was a clueless when my DamnSmallLinux installation failed. I downloaded the .iso from their website: dsl and I downloaded the file "dsl-3.4.1.iso". I then burnt this file onto a CD-R. Now the computer I am installing DSL onto is a PIII 866mhz with 256mb of RAM, it has a floppy drive, x6 CD Rom drive, as well as a 1.4Gb Harddrive. The HD is freshly formatted so there is no opperating system installed. It uses the intel D815EEA motherboard motherboard web page, with the intel 815E chipset that has onboard graphics. I set my Bios to boot from the CD-Rom drive, and sure enough... it boots the DSL main screen. From there, it asks me to press enter to continue with DSL, or I can press F2 or F3 for more options. I press enter and this is what happends...

You passed an undifined mode number.
    Press <Return> to see video modes available, <Space> to continue or wait 30 seconds.

(I press enter)

Video adapter: VESA VGA
    Mode: COLSxROWS:
    0 0f00 80x25
    1 0f01 80x50
    2 0f02 80x43
    3 0f03 80x28
    4 0f05 80x30
    5 0f06 80x34
    6 0f07 80x60

Enter mode number or 'scan':

(I type in 'scan')

Video adapter: VESA VGA
    Mode: COLSxROWS:
    0 0f00 80x25
    1 0f01 80x50
    2 0f02 80x43
    3 0f03 80x28
    4 0f05 80x30
    5 0f06 80x34
    6 0f07 80x60
    7 0100 40x25
    8 0120 132x25
    9 0121 132x43
    a 0122 132x50
    b 0123 132x60

Enter mode number or 'scan':

(I type in 'scan')
    (The same screen reappears)
    (So this time, I type '0' just to see what happends)

Uncompressing Linux... Ok, booting the Kernel.