Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hello. I got "Freemind" running, after giving in the command "su /usr/freemind/freemind.sh", but shortly after, it then disappeared. Before that, I downloaded and installed freemind-0.9.0~beta9. Then I had to download ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    219

    Thumbs up Sensation!: "Freemind" on Mepis...


    Hello.

    I got "Freemind" running, after giving in the command "su /usr/freemind/freemind.sh", but shortly after, it then disappeared.

    Before that, I downloaded and installed freemind-0.9.0~beta9.

    Then I had to download tree java folders with files:

    librelaxng-datatype-java,

    libcommons-lang-java, and

    libcommons-codec-java.

    (libforms-java has a fix, and I did not install it yet.)


    Now I only get the error message:

    "Sorry KDE Pannl,

    KDEInit could not launch 'su/usr/freemind/freemind.sh'.:
    Could not find 'su/usr/freemind/freemind.sh' executable."


    - Kann anybody help???

    Thank you.

    Alexander

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    219
    Hello again.

    I would appreciate some help. Thank you.


    Alexander

  3. #3
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,132
    Sorry KDE Pannl,

    KDEInit could not launch 'su/usr/freemind/freemind.sh'.:
    Could not find 'su/usr/freemind/freemind.sh' executable."
    You seem to be missing the space between su and the rest of the command. These are two distinct commands and should be delimited by a space.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    219
    Hello bigtomrodney,

    Thank you so much, for your reply.

    This is how I give in the command. With the space:

    su /usr/freemind/freemind.sh

    Hope to hear from you again.


    Alexander

    P.S.: Some great videos to watch, on blip.tv (Internet).
    For example "Gardenfork", or "Furnitologie".

  5. #5
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,132
    Quote Originally Posted by Lordshooter View Post
    Hello bigtomrodney,

    Thank you so much, for your reply.

    This is how I give in the command. With the space:

    su /usr/freemind/freemind.sh

    Hope to hear from you again.
    I can't believe I missed this the first time around. You don't use su but rather sudo and in fact if it is a graphical application you should use kdesu instead.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    219
    Thanks, bigtom

    your suggestions resulted in error messages.

    Nevertheless, a few hours later, I was looking into "office", and to my surprise it showed a "FreeMind"-icon.

    Each time I click on the icon from the panel menue, it procuces another icon on the panel bar.

    Anyway, I have "FreeMind" now, and it is working nicely. This mindmapping application was added automatically to my office applications. It wasn't there before: a few days ago.

    Something else:
    I lost my "KDE-panel/all menus , applications, etc.", which used to pop up on my desktop.
    - How can I get it back?

    Thank you.

    Alexander

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •