Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
i'm new to this stuff - i just recently downloaded LFS (v 6.2 for 32 bit x86). i then proceeded to create my virtual machine - vmdk file created using ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    23

    linux from scratch, GUI & vmware


    i'm new to this stuff - i just recently downloaded LFS (v 6.2 for 32 bit x86).

    i then proceeded to create my virtual machine - vmdk file created using qemu. created a vmx file pointing to the vmdk and the LFS iso. everything's running smoothly, i'm following the instructions given in the LFS pdf, mounted my partitions, i've got my swap. then i reach the part where it says to download packages. i switch to xfce desktop env by typing startx. everything is still smooth. then next i decide to power down my virtual machine and come back later. power down, all good.

    now here's where the problem starts. i come back and try to restart my VM and it just hangs after the POST stuff.... i tried creating things from scratch again. everytime i try to restart it hangs. any ideas?

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    What is the POST stuff?
    What is exacly the last thing that LFS did?
    And you know that xfce is part of BLFS?

    I hope I can help you.

    Cheers,
    Robin
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    23
    POST: i mean i've got a virtual machine running just like a dedicated machine. so POST - is the power on self test sequence that you get right in the beginning.

    the last thing that LFS did was to shut down directly from xfce.

    no i'm not aware that xfce is a part of BLFS. this is the exact iso file that i downloaded:

    lfslivecd-x86-6.2-5.iso

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    You can do a BUMP.
    But I think there will be more help if you answer my Questions

    Else I cant really help can I?

    Cheers,
    Robin
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    23
    sorry about that - i got in to the office and refreshed my browser. it obvioulsy didnt get refreshed properly so i saw no replies and bumped. then i saw your reply!

    i've edited my previous post and replied to your questions.

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    Ok, thats really weird behavoir..
    Umm, maybe you should make your system from Scratch without xfce. Since there might be something that xfce needs.. But you havnt made that yet. And well he didnt look for it on the First Boot..
    Im sorry I cant really help you with this.

    Cheers,
    Robin
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    23
    hmmm.... i'm running off the livecd- i haven't yet reached the build stage. i just mounted the file system and switched to xfce to download packages per the pdf... is there a text based internet browser in the livecd? elinks doesn't seem to be present.

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    Oh, well I didnt really get that part.
    I thought you tryed to Build LFS and that you already build so far that you could go into XFCe.

    well try to look for Dillo, Links or Linx on the livecd
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    23
    thanks - but i found what the problem was. after i mounted the partitions again, then tried rebooting, the same problem occured. so i changed the boot sequence so that i can boot from the CD and it's working fine now. it had nothing to do with xfce.

    very embarassing!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •