Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Hi all, I am new to this biscuit sounding CRUX distribution and need a few guides on installation. First of all, please introduce me to basic use of ViM. It ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux User

CRUX Install

Hi all,

I am new to this biscuit sounding CRUX distribution and need a few guides on installation. First of all, please introduce me to basic use of ViM. It is required while making the fstabs and stuff.

Next, please tell me how long will it take to compile the kernel of CRUX which one manually has to? Is 1 hour safe to say?

Best Regards,
    Usama

Linux User
    I am posting my fstab in Ubuntu here. Please translate it into CRUX's fstab (sda to hda) and remove the UUID stuff please.

Code:
    # <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
    proc            /proc           proc    defaults        0       0
    # /dev/sda8
    UUID=5699b544-f68c-4b62-b98f-502584c6ff4d /               ext3    defaults,errors=remount-ro 0       1
    # /dev/sda1
    UUID=786B-C5BE  /media/sda1     vfat    defaults,utf8,umask=007,gid=46 0       1
    # /dev/sda5
    UUID=C0EB-F85E  /media/sda5     vfat    defaults,utf8,umask=007,gid=46 0       1
    # /dev/sda7
    UUID=A4FD-8079  /media/sda7     vfat    defaults,utf8,umask=007,gid=46 0       1
    # /dev/sda3
    UUID=07ea4d4b-211f-4f8e-8e08-9f924b41fafc none            swap    sw              0       0
    # /dev/sda6
    UUID=3f74ff33-801b-405b-bef2-59dc7508abe6 none            swap    sw              0       0
    /dev/scd0       /media/cdrom   udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec 0       0
    /dev/fd0        /media/floppy  auto    rw,user,noauto,exec 0       0
    There's one more partition which I have tried to import into my fstab but all efforts up to no avail. That problematic one is /dev/sda9 and an ext3. Please help meh.

oz
    forum.guy