Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi guys,i'm new in Linux so i need a little help I have Sabayon Linux 3.4 miniEdition but it doesn't wants to boot I'm using WinXP Pro. Does that changes ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

[SOLVED] Sabayon Linux 3.4 miniEdition help

Hi guys,i'm new in Linux so i need a little help I have Sabayon Linux 3.4 miniEdition but it doesn't wants to boot I'm using WinXP Pro. Does that changes anything?And pls help me about the booting.

Just Joined!
    Hey Dark,
    I'm currently using Sabayon 3.4 mini edition on my laptop and I'm really happy with it, I hope things work out well for you.

The operating system you are currently using shouldn't impact the installation of this OS.

What happens when you insert the CD? Does it bring you to a failure screen or does it simply not recognize that it is bootable and bring you to windows? Did you checksum the iso that you downloaded or tried to reburn the CD?

-Ken

It's alright now,a friend helped me But i need another thing from you Can u tell me how to install it on a HDD with installed WinXP Pro?Do i need a different partition and which format should it be?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Quote Originally Posted by DarkAssasin View Post
    It's alright now,a friend helped me But i need another thing from you Can u tell me how to install it on a HDD with installed WinXP Pro?Do i need a different partition and which format should it be?
    I haven't install Sabayon in a while, but the installer should offer to shrink your XP partition for you. Before you do this I very strongly recommend you backup any important data on the XP drive just in case. 99% of the time nothing goes wrong, but I've been that 1% every once in a while. It might also be a good idea to run defrag on the XP drive just to make sure there aren't any stray pieces of files on the end of your drive you're going to use for Linux.