Find the answer to your Linux question:
I want to install avg antivirus would someone tell me the go get install command...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

antivirus

I want to install avg antivirus would someone tell me the go get install command

Go to this page and download the file for redhat then use rpm -i /path/to/downloaded/file

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by dressed_in_black View Post
    Go to this page and download the file for redhat then use rpm -i /path/to/downloaded/file
    I should have mentioned I am to new to know what rpm is or how to use it I know nothing at all about how to use linux thanks

Ok one thing to start off with then is that GNU/Linux is a lot less prone to virii (plural of virus) compaired to MS Windows. Most users tend not to use any AntiVirus at all and get along fine. I have been using GNU/Linux for over 4 years now and I have only ever once ran an AV (antivirus) once and found it was a waste of time.
    If you still want to go forward with installing AV (maybe a work requirements or something?) then please do the following.

Visit the afore mentioned page and download the file for "RedHat based distributions (RedHat Linux, Fedora Core)".
    If you are asked where to save the file specify your desktop, cause it will help with the following.

Open up a 'terminal'. You will need to look on your menu's for this as I don't run xandros.
    Once you have found it open it up and you are presented with a text prompt, compairable to Ms Command Prompt.

Now, to become a superuser (access to the whole computer) you need to type the following command;
    su

You will be then asked for your root password, which you should have specified at install.
    then use the following command to install the AV;
    rpm -i ~/Desktop/avg75flr-r51-a1243.i386.rpm