Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 53
It looks like Linpus has grub.conf instead of menu.lst. Code: cat linpus/boot/grub/grub.conf ls linpus/boot/grub -...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729

    It looks like Linpus has grub.conf instead of menu.lst.
    Code:
    cat linpus/boot/grub/grub.conf
    ls linpus/boot/grub
    -
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    33
    heres what i got

    default=0
    timeout=0
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu

    title Linpus Linux Lite
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/bzImage changes=/dev/hdc1 root=/dev/ram0 rw max_loop=255 init=linuxrc selinux=0 vga=0x311 splash=silent quiet loglevel=1 console=tty1 load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 ramdisk_size=14000 from=/dev/hdc1 acpi=force ide0=noprobe ide2=noprobe ide3=noprobe lang=en
    initrd /boot/initrd.gz

    title Linpus Linux Lite(rescue)
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/bzImage changes=/dev/hdc1 root=/dev/ram0 rw max_loop=255 init=linuxrc selinux=0 vga=0x311 splash=silent quiet loglevel=1 console=tty1 load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 ramdisk_size=14000 from=/dev/hdc1 acpi=force rescue lang=en
    initrd /boot/initrd.gz

    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ ls linpus/boot/grub
    device.map iso9660_stage1_5 stage1 vstafs_stage1_5
    e2fs_stage1_5 jfs_stage1_5 stage2 xfs_stage1_5
    fat_stage1_5 minix_stage1_5 stage2_eltorito
    ffs_stage1_5 reiserfs_stage1_5 TRANS.TBL
    grub.conf splash.xpm.gz ufs2_stage1_5

  3. #13
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Perfect ! Execute this now :
    Code:
    sudo nano linpus/boot/grub/grub.conf
    Put # sign before hiddenmenu line. Set timeout value to 10. ( Replace 0 with 10 in timeout=0 ) and add this at the end of file :
    Code:
    title Windows OS
    rootnoverify (hd0,1)
    chainloader +1
    Press Ctrl+X, Y and hit Enter key to save file. Reboot machine.

    * Dont forget to execute mkdir, mount commands first.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    33
    is this how its supposed to look?


    default=0
    timeout=10
    splashimage=(hd0,0) /boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    #hiddenmenu

    title linpus linux lite
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/bzimage changes=/dev/hdc1 root=/dev/ram0 rw max_loop=25$
    initrd /boot/initrd.gz

    title linpus linux lite(rescue)
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/bzimage changes=/dev/hdc1 root=/dev/ram0 rw max_loop=25$
    initrd /boot/initrd.gz

    title windows os
    rootnoverify (hd0,1)
    chainloader +1



    coz im still getting the grub prompt

  5. #15
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Contents of menu.lst file are correct now. Download SuperGRUB CD, burn it to CD and boot up from it. Select 'Fix Linux Boot Loader (GRUB)' option. It will re-install GRUB and both OSes should boot up fine after that.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    33
    im still getting the grub prompt, i used the supergrub disk, then gnu/linux, fix boot of gnu/linux (grub), then reboot

  7. #17
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    SuperGRUB CD fixes most of boot up problems but it looks like something has gone during partition creation.

    Try to edit grub.conf file again.
    Code:
    default=0
    timeout=10
    splashimage=(hd0,0) /boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    #hiddenmenu
     
     title linpus linux lite
     rootnoverify (hd0,0)
     kernel /boot/bzimage root=/dev/hdc1 rw 
     initrd /boot/initrd.gz
     
     title linpus linux lite(rescue)
     rootnoverify (hd0,0)
     kernel /boot/bzimage changes=/dev/hdc1 root=/dev/ram0 rw max_loop=25$
     initrd /boot/initrd.gz
     
     title windows os
     rootnoverify (hd0,1)
     chainloader +1
    In case it doesn't work this time too, you have to re-install both OSes.
    Do you have installation CD of Linpus?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    33
    this is the exact content of my grub.conf



    default=0
    timeout=10
    splashimage=(hd0,0) /boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    #hiddenmenu

    title linpus linux lite
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/bzimage changes=/dev/hdc1 root=/dev/ram0 rw max_loop=255 init=linuxrc selinux=0 vga=0x311 splash=silent quiet loglevel=1 console=tty1 load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 ramdisk_size=14000 from=/dev/hdc1 acpi=force ide0=noprobe ide2=noprobe ide3=noprobe lang=en
    initrd /boot/initrd.gz

    title linpus linux lite(rescue)
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/bzimage changes=/dev/hdc1 root=/dev/ram0 rw max_loop=255 init=linuxrc selinux=0 vga=0x311 splash=silent quiet loglevel=1 console=tty1 load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 ramdisk_size=14000 from=/dev/hdc1 acpi=force ide0=noprobe ide2=noprobe ide3=noprobe lang=en
    initrd /boot/initrd.gz

    title windows os
    rootnoverify (hd0,1)
    chainloader +1

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    33
    after i change it to this:

    kernel /boot/bzimage root=/dev/hdc1 rw


    do i remove max_loop=255 and everything after that?


    i dont have linpus installation but i can download it.
    the linpus website only has the livecd, can i install from it?

    in case i need to reinstall which os do i install first?

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    33
    i edited the grub.conf but its still the same, i added the max_loop=255 after the change, after i restarted i only get grub prompt

    i booted using the supergrub cd and tried windows-boot windows
    i get invalid system disk, replace the disk

    also tried boot windows from 2nd partition (laptop), i get error 21:selected disk does not exist

    tried gnu/linux-boot gnu/linux, i get the choices for linpus lite, linpus rescue and windows os, i tried linpus lite and windows os and i can boot from it

    before i edited the grub.conf the first time, i could access windows thru supergrub, windows-boot windows or windows-boot windows from 2nd partition (laptop)

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •