Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Question trouble installing DSL to hard drive

I'm very new to linux and I am having trouble installing DSL to the hard drive on my computer as the only OS.

I booted from the live CD first, and attempted to make the partition table as outlined in the instructions but it just freezes up when I try to write the table.

I then tried to use GParted LiveCD to create the table when I realized what I think the problem is. My drive is being detected as "/dev/sda1". I don't know what the difference between sda1 and hda1 is so I proceeded with creating the table using GParted. I then booted from the DSL disk again and continued but when I run the command "mkswap /dev/sda1" it says it cannot locate the drive. If I run the command "mkswap /dev/hda1" it just freezes.

I apologize if this is a stupid question. I am very new to linux and have been working on this since last Saturday and I haven't made any progress (Except for formatting Windows ME off of the hard drive)

PS. I am graciously accepting any suggestions for linux distrobutions that will fit on a 3GB hard drive and leave some room to install XAMPP. My goal is to build a small web server with MySQL.

Thanks in advance

Sda stands for a sata type hardrive.

Hda stands for a ide type hardrive.

Do you know what type of hardrive is in your computer?
    I refuse to let fear and fear of others rule my life. It puts my humanity at risk.
    Accepting Death is the only way to stay alive.

WOW! Come to think of it I've only had this computer for about a week and a half. I never got around to opening it, and looking inside before I started. If it is sata are there special procedures I should take to install DSL to it?

I'll check what type it is as soon as I get home tonight.

Thanks

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Are you following this procedure to install?