Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm very new to linux and I am having trouble installing DSL to the hard drive on my computer as the only OS. I booted from the live CD first, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question trouble installing DSL to hard drive

I'm very new to linux and I am having trouble installing DSL to the hard drive on my computer as the only OS.

I booted from the live CD first, and attempted to make the partition table as outlined in the instructions but it just freezes up when I try to write the table.

I then tried to use GParted LiveCD to create the table when I realized what I think the problem is. My drive is being detected as "/dev/sda1". I don't know what the difference between sda1 and hda1 is so I proceeded with creating the table using GParted. I then booted from the DSL disk again and continued but when I run the command "mkswap /dev/sda1" it says it cannot locate the drive. If I run the command "mkswap /dev/hda1" it just freezes.

I apologize if this is a stupid question. I am very new to linux and have been working on this since last Saturday and I haven't made any progress (Except for formatting Windows ME off of the hard drive)

PS. I am graciously accepting any suggestions for linux distrobutions that will fit on a 3GB hard drive and leave some room to install XAMPP. My goal is to build a small web server with MySQL.

Thanks in advance

Sda stands for a sata type hardrive.

Hda stands for a ide type hardrive.

Do you know what type of hardrive is in your computer?
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

Just Joined!