Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Can it be done? Apparently I neglected to do so during installation. Can I do it without installing it again, it is painfully slow without it I'm running on an ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    16

    Set up swap drive after install?


    Can it be done?
    Apparently I neglected to do so during installation.
    Can I do it without installing it again, it is painfully slow without it
    I'm running on an 8 yr old thinkpad with 192mb of ram!

    If it can be done, can someone walk me through it?
    Total newbie here!

    I have an 10gb drive with 2 equal partitions, puppy is on the first partition and mepis is on the second, grub is installed to the mbr and loads both.
    I would use puppy it was pretty good on my laptop but while it was a tad faster than windows it was a little too buggy for my liking so here I am with mepis.

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Do you have any free space left on the drive?
    All you really need to do is use the fdisk command to create a new partition, then use the mkswap command on that partition, activate it with swapon /dev/path/to/new/partition
    Here is a howto for Redhat, which should work just fine for any version of Linux.
    Adding Swap Space
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    16
    Ok I think I understand all that.

    One question,

    Could I use the partition that puppy is on as my swap for mepis as that partition is not in use when I am in mepis, and If I can get mepis working nicely I will not likely be using puppy anyway.
    Or does the swap drive need to be completely and totally free of anything else?

    Yes I do have space on both partitions, if I have to have a totally free 'drive' I would have to resize partitions to add it though.
    So I guess I am asking could I just use the mkswap command on the partition that puppy is on and skip the step of making a new partition. They are all on the same physical drive anyway.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    If you create a swap partition, it needs to be free space only. Anything else will get overwritten when you create swap space on it. If you have a swap space that you use for Puppy Linux then you can also use that same swap space for Mepis. I share one swap partition between 3 distro's.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  6. #5
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Your other option would be to create a swap file. It's just an ordinary file configured to to be used as swap space.

    *EDIT*

    I read that all wrong... somehow I missed the fact that the link MikeTbob posted was a walk-through for what I just suggested.
    Please ignore me now...
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    16
    ahhh ok, I see it now.

    Thanks Mike, and Jay!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •