Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Just re-installed Dreamlinux which is ok apart from the fact that the swap partition isn't mounted. Can somebody help me please?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    13

    [SOLVED] swap mount?


    Just re-installed Dreamlinux which is ok apart from the fact that the swap partition isn't mounted. Can somebody help me please?

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    The swap partition isn't mounted like normal drives and it doesn't show up when you issue the mount command. Try using the free command to see if it's active or not.
    Code:
    free
    All you really need to do is make sure that your /etc/fstab is correctly pointing at the swap partition. If you want to activate the swap on a running system then you need the swapon command.
    Code:
    swapon /dev/sdax
    Where sdax is your actual swap partition.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    13
    Hi Mike Tbob......

    free >>>>>

    terry@tcq:~$ free
    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 482312 409152 73160 0 12448 183320
    -/+ buffers/cache: 213384 268928
    Swap: 0 0 0


    Don't know what to do next! Just issue the command swapon /dev/hda1????

    /dev/hda1 = swap partition

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    You could do that, if you are sure that is the correct partition.
    swapon /dev/hda1
    then edit the /etc/fstab file to point at it, and it will work on reboot too.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  6. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Post the output of fdisk -l command and contents of /etc/fstab file here.
    Code:
    su -
    fdisk -l 
    cat /etc/fstab
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    13
    Thanks everybody............the fstab file was wrong ang the swap was formatted as ext3. Managed to sort the problem at last....thanks again!!!!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •