Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hi. I installed CRUX following the directions and as far as I can tell everything worked but when I rebooted I was greeted by GRUB telling me it's settings are ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    11

    Installed CRUX with default LILO, but GRUB's still there.


    Hi. I installed CRUX following the directions and as far as I can tell everything worked but when I rebooted I was greeted by GRUB telling me it's settings are messed up. But shouldn't LILO have overwrote GRUB?

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Sometimes, LILO has a hard time overwriting GRUB.

    Be sure and run lilo before rebooting. You could also try uninstalling GRUB, and manually remove the menu.lst file if needed.

    Hope you have fun with CRUX.
    oz

  3. #3
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,025
    GRUB is able to handle CRUX quite well. You should be able to edit your grub.conf to handle everything. What is the output of
    Code:
    cat /boot/grub/grub.conf
    *EDIT*

    You may have the file in a different location depending on the main installation. Case in point, my main install was Fedora. So I use the GRUB file therein.

    2nd EDIT

    ozar has more knowledge of lilo than I do (never used LILO), so between those two suggestions, we'll get you going!
    Last edited by jayd512; 12-17-2008 at 03:18 AM. Reason: Multiple after-thoughts
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    As jayd512 says, unless you just prefer Lilo, Grub does CRUX well. All you need to do is edit the /boot/grub/menu.lst and tell Grub where CRUX is. For instance. on this box I have Ubuntu and CRUX. CRUX is at /dev/sda5. Remembering that GRUB uses a number behind, I have this as my CRUX entry in Ubuntu's menu.lst...
    Code:
    title           CRUX 2.4
    root            (hd0,4) 
    kernel          (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz
    After editing, save and reboot and your CRUX entry should appear as a boot choice.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  6. #5
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,025
    Code:
    #boot=/dev/sda
    default=1
    timeout=10
    splashimage=(hd0,1)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu
    title Fedora (2.6.23.1-42.fc8)
            root (hd0,1)
            kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.23.1-42.fc8 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
            initrd /initrd-2.6.23.1-42.fc8.img
    
    title CRUX (2.6.23.9)
            root (hd1,0)
            kernel (hd1,0)/boot/vmlinuz
    Here's mine as well. Dapper Dan has his in Ubuntu, I got mine in Fedora. Seeing as they are almost identical, you should be able to get something out of it. Post if you have issues with it!
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •