Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
After instillation, screen reads "NO ROM BASIC SYSTEM HALTED" I am confused as to what this means. Please help....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    13

    initial boot-up problem


    After instillation, screen reads
    "NO ROM BASIC
    SYSTEM HALTED"
    I am confused as to what this means.
    Please help.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    could you be a little more descriptive? ie what type of system, what version of yoper etc?
    -lakerdonald

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    13
    The system is a "mut". The version is yoper v.2

  4. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    max
    what's a mut
    -andy

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    13
    A "mut" is a metaphor. A dog of many breeds is a mut.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    so you built it yourself?

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    13
    It has been built and rebuilt many times by many people, including myself. Windows (cough*evil* cough) worked fine on it, so there is nothing insanely wrong with it.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Wa.
    Posts
    6

    Re: initial boot-up problem

    Quote Originally Posted by 73RMIN8R
    After instillation, screen reads
    "NO ROM BASIC
    SYSTEM HALTED"
    I am confused as to what this means.
    Please help.

    I haven't seen this error yet. What file system are you useing and what bootloader?

  9. #9
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    I would guess a motherboard compatability issue off the top of my head, but I could be worlds off, A complete specs list would be a great help, if you cant do that, get what information you can from your bios.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    13
    I am using reiser4.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •