Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
I'm new to linux, and installed Linux Mint a few days ago. While it is a very nice operating system, i wanted to try something else. So i downloaded and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How do i stop grub and allow live CD's to boot?

I'm new to linux, and installed Linux Mint a few days ago. While it is a very nice operating system, i wanted to try something else. So i downloaded and burnt a live CD of openSUSE 11.1. I tried to boot from it, but my computer always starts loading mint as though there were no cd in the drive. I changed the BIOS to boot from the cd, but that didnt work either. I held F12 and chose to boot from cd. That didnt work either. It just kept going to mint. so using parted magic, i deleted the partition hoping that with mint gone i would be able to boot from a cd. (as of now i have no operating system installed) Instead, i start the computer and hold F12, choose boot from cd, but it goes directly to grub. grub starts loading, but then says error 22. I've tried numerous live cd's, super grub disk, etc. but it always goes to grub then says error 22. So my question is, how do i stop grub from starting, and let the live CD boot?

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

Maybe a bad burn to CD/DVD. You can check the following HowTo for instructions on properly downloading the ISO file and then burning it to disk as an image:

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/ins...ll-cd-dvd.html

The howto also covers properly booting from such disks.
    oz

I think your problem is likely to be either:-
    1. live CD incorrect burning
    2. downloaded iso file corrupted
    3. anti-virus set on in BIOS preventing CD boot & possible write to MBR

Check in order ...
    BIOS virus protection is set off
    iso file md5sum to confirm it is not corrupt (check against download website value)