Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
try this apt-cache search java then apt-get isntall java (or whatever that turns up)...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396

    try this

    apt-cache search java

    then
    apt-get isntall java (or whatever that turns up)
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    California (Bay Area)
    Posts
    23
    hmm.. I edited the post above about firfox but, searching for java brings up berkeley db, not sure what that is, the rest are kde things...

  3. #13
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    i know there are some sort of java packages in the Yoper apt-get system, i did java devel in Yoper for a bit. dion't rember how i got them
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    California (Bay Area)
    Posts
    23
    WHAO!!! WHOA!!!!!! much much MUCH more important problem... I just installed tux racer to make sure my vid card was working properly... The good news is that it works. But the sound is like 5 seconds behind the game? Is this because of kde messin with my sound, I've had probs like that before, the sound is even delayed on the kde sounds that it makes when minimizing windows etc.

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    California (Bay Area)
    Posts
    23
    hmm... firefox still doesnt work, java dont work, sounds slow (think I know why that is but not sure). And I cant find out how to add debian mirrors to yoper

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    21
    The folks at Sun are using a deprecated syntax. To get the package to extract you must do the following beforehand:

    Code:
    export _POSIX2_VERSION=199209

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    California (Bay Area)
    Posts
    23
    ah ok, I get it, ok, I DID have java installed I just needed to tell the browser how to do it, been browsing forums, my bad, shoulda dont that first... Will continue to browse but still looking for help on adding debian mirrors/getting sound up

  8. #18
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    you don't really want teh debain mirrors as you lose the optimized packagez that Yoper has to offer.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    59
    you know, I think java comes installed with yopper. I downloaded/installed azureus and it worked w/o installing java first. I also recall reading somewhere that it is included. I wonder if anyone else can confirm this.

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    21
    It is included at /usr/local/jdk . However to get Eclipse to work you will need the latest Java version.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •