Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Installed dsl on my 2Gb Kingston Data Traveler. I got it to boot to the dsl os but it randomly locks up and freezes. This first happened when it was ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6

    Random Lock Ups


    Installed dsl on my 2Gb Kingston Data Traveler. I got it to boot to the dsl os but it randomly locks up and freezes. This first happened when it was loading. Then after a forced shutdown it loaded fine, the within 30 seconds inside linux it locked up. It will do this when ever I move the mouse and start to do something. If it just sets there its fine but as soon as something starts going down....its done!

    New to linux and booting USBs. I also did not look through 25 pages of this thread to see if this has been discussed.

    Hope someone can help me.

    Comp specs:
    Dell Inspiron 1525 laptop
    Vista home premium
    2Gb RAM, Intel pentium Dual-Core 1.73Ghz

    Need anymore info tell me.

    I also tryed it on another comp, and it did the same thing.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru D-cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bounce between Dover, NH - Shapleigh, ME
    Posts
    1,638
    I also tryed it on another comp, and it did the same thing.
    This tells me you probably have a bad disk. Try burning another one as slow as your burner will allow. If that doesn't work, try another distro. For those who want to go light-weight live with problem computers, I suggest Puppy.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6
    Its on a jump drive.

    As far as I can tell, its ok until your start doing something, then within about a minute it just locks up. The OS will load up and work fine. I can let it set and idle with out touching it, and its fine, but once I start moving around the mouse its over.

    I also try this on a computer running XP, same troubles, so Vista is not to blame here.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    It looks like Graphics Card problem.
    Execute this
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci | grep -i vga
    grep -i driver /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6
    This might very well sound stupid, but how do I do that?

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Press Alt+Ctrl+F1. It will drop you at Command line login prompt. Log in there and execute commands.
    Or boot up in command line mode only.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6
    I take it this is in Linux?

    If your looking for the graphics card it's a Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family. aka - a piece of ****.

  9. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf file and set up "vesa" as a Video Card driver.
    Code:
    Section Device
               Identifier   "Configured Video Device"
               Driver        "vesa"
    EndSection
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6
    Devils, I do appreciate the help.

    You really need to explain this in a more retarded way. I know nothing about Linux, and how anything works in it. Overall I'm also not that great with the technical side of computers. I'm learning though.

    I got to the part where you hit Ctrl, Alt, F1 and it took me to a command prompt type of window. I proceeded to type in your bit of "code?" and hit enter. Nothing happened, it just went down to the next line. You also said something about logging in? I don't have any login info or a place to put it. If thats what you meant.

    Seems to be that this isn't rocket science.

  11. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Execute this
    Code:
    vi /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Press i to start editing, press Esc, : ( full colon ) and x to save file.

    i -- edit file -- Esc : x

    Look for Video Device Section and set Driver value to "vesa". In case file is empty or there isn't any Driver line in Video Card Section, add new.

    * Its Capital X in X11.

    It really easy to edit xorg.conf file using LiveCD of any Linux distro.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •