Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I recently intalled KateOS 3.6 on an old PC setup, including it's old monitor. I now want to use use it with my LCD monitor, but some of the text ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question [SOLVED] Auto-Detect New Monitor in KateOS?

I recently intalled KateOS 3.6 on an old PC setup, including it's old monitor. I now want to use use it with my LCD monitor, but some of the text is off the screen, so I need reconfigure the display settings. Can anyone advise how I go about this please? Does Linux (and KateOS in particular) support auto-detect, or do I need to tweak something manually?

Any help much appreciated ... I'm brand new to Linux.

I'm not familiar with KateOS, but you probably need to reconfigure your xorg.conf file. (Located at /etc/X11/xorg.conf).

Just Joined!
    Thanks.

Took me a while just to find the file ... and then to look inside it! ("locate", then "less"). Still getting to grips with the very basic basics! "ls etc" didn't seem to show X11 directory. Eventually sussed it's shown first 'cos it's uppercase X, and because my monitor settings are off only half the X was showing ... looked like C11 ... !?

Looked in xorg.conf and just one monitor section is shown which very clearly relates to the old CTX monitor, but nothing for the new LG one. Says these are the DDC-probed settings for that monitor ... surely there must be a way therefore to DDC-probe the new monitor? Trouble is I can't suss how?

I know when I installed KateOS it ran some sort of config utility with what looked like a simple graphical front end to it. Can't help wondering if that's what I need to run up again, but I don't have a clue how to get back to it again. I don't want to rerun the whole install again in case it messes something up.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!