Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all. I am fairly new to Linux admin. I am the server administrator for a college library, and I need to upgrade CentOS on our web server. I upgraded ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

CentOS upgrade from 4.7 to 5.3

Hi all. I am fairly new to Linux admin. I am the server administrator for a college library, and I need to upgrade CentOS on our web server. I upgraded CentOS on the mirror server from 5.0 to 5.3 with yum upgrade. But I am unsure if I should use yum upgrade or yum update to go from 4.7 to 5.3. Any advise? Thanks.

Linux Enthusiast
    Hi SMHarris,

It's generally not a good idea to upgrade from one major release to another, although it is possible you do so at your own risk.

Your best bet is to backup the system you want to upgrade, do a fresh install of the new release and then restore the data / configuration that you want from the old system.
    RHCE #100-015-395
    Please don't PM me with questions as no reply may offend, that's what the forums are for.

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Quote Originally Posted by SMHarris View Post
    Hi all. I am fairly new to Linux admin. I am the server administrator for a college library, and I need to upgrade CentOS on our web server. I upgraded CentOS on the mirror server from 5.0 to 5.3 with yum upgrade. But I am unsure if I should use yum upgrade or yum update to go from 4.7 to 5.3. Any advise? Thanks.