Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm running KateOS 3.6 and want to see what services are running. From what I gather (I'm very new at this) 'chkconfig' should be the command to use for this, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

BASH, services & chkconfig - help please

I'm running KateOS 3.6 and want to see what services are running. From what I gather (I'm very new at this) 'chkconfig' should be the command to use for this, but the command is not recognised in BASH, even if running in a root login. Seems very odd. Doesn't show up in the help either. Should there be any version of Linux that doesn't provide a full set of BASH commands? BASH claims to be at v3.1.17(2).

What I am actually trying to establish is if a firewall is running. Being so new to Linux, every time I try to find the answer to a question, the answer seems to get obscured by 10 new questions! Most frustrating.

Just Joined!
    chkconfig (if i recall) is a RedHat script (I am not sure what KateOS is based on btw) - that you can use to set which services start at boot up and at different runlevels.

The command to find out what processes are running on your machine is "ps".

at your bash prompt (as root), try a:

# ps -A v

and scroll through the output. Alternatively, if you are trying to check whether a particular service has loaded or not, try the following:

# ls /etc/init.d/

Look through the list of files until you find the one that corresponds to the firewall script (if it is there) then

# /etc/init.d/myfirewall status

replace "myfirewall" with the name of the script that you want to check.

Just Joined!
    Many thanks. Probably going to be a day or two before I can get back to this now, but I'll let you know how it goes once I do.

KateOS is based on Slackware, though the latest version (3.6) has apparently diverged slightly from it compared to earlier versions.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!