Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I just started learning about LXDE and want to give it a try but am wondering if anyone has an opinion of the best distro to use LXDE with. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Best LXDE Distro?

I just started learning about LXDE and want to give it a try but am wondering if anyone has an opinion of the best distro to use LXDE with. I just want to give it a try so am looking for a good way to get started with it.

You are like me. Posting same thing in two are more forums to make sure you get the reply.

As per my opinion any distro should do. I used it with Debian. It was good. You need not change your distro for this I guess.
    A candle looses nothing by lighting other candles. - Khalil Zibran.
    Registered Linux User #490076

True. You can use whatever distro/DE combo you like. And you can have as many installed as you like. If you have GNOME, IceWM and LXDE all installed, you can switch between them as you like to get the feel of them.
    Jay

New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    oz
    forum.guy
    Best LXDE Distro?
    In theory, LXDE should work as well on one distro as another, but if a certain distro uses it by default and the developers for that distro go to the trouble to tweak, refine, and patch LXDE so that it works better with that particular distro, you might find some small advantages. With that in mind, it might be better to look for distros that use LXDE by default.
    oz

Just Joined!
    I'm new to Linux but it seemed when i started KDE was the big desktop, Gnome #2, then Xfce was #3 but getting much more popular but has that changed.