Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello, Firstly I am very new to Linux, so please bear with me. I am a windows .NET developer and need help to set up my perfect environment which I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Exclamation Calling all Linux Guru's!!

Hello,
    Firstly I am very new to Linux, so please bear with me. I am a windows .NET developer and need help to set up my perfect environment which I see as follows:
    I would like to take my PC and install a VERY small linux (just the absolute bear minimal to boot up). Once booted up, it will start VirtualBox VM where I can install various versions of WinXP to do my development. Basically, each WinXP VM will be a configuration for each of my clients, which i can start as needed.
    So, I would like someone to help me walk thro this project to see if it can work. I already started looking at DSL, which is getting there but way more than I need from Linux. Like I said, I just need the bare core (kernal?) to boot up with and start the VirtualBox application UI so I can choose which guest OS to start. But my knowledge of Linux is the square root of sod all, and at best I've played with (and installed) Ubuntu. I am also keen to learn Linux as I go along... who knows, maybe one day I will ditch windohs alltogether, but until then, it helps me pay the bills

Regards
    Louis

Damn Small is a modified version of Debian, but there is a minimal version of Debian proper called "net-install." It gives you basically a command-line system with the default kernel, and you can add on as much or as little as you want. You could start with that and add a bare-bones X11 environment like Fluxbox or TWM, and use that to launch your Virtualbox sessions.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

You can find some info on other mini versions of Linux here: