Find the answer to your Linux question:
Ok, so. Get ready to laugh at my malapropisms, I am sure this question will be littered with them. I apologize in advance. I am upgrading my Joomla via patching ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    nbm
    Just Joined!

Absolute Newbie Half Conquered Putty

Ok, so. Get ready to laugh at my malapropisms, I am sure this question will be littered with them. I apologize in advance.

I am upgrading my Joomla via patching with SSH. I have used the How to Update your Joomla tutorial and it has carried me successfully to the last step. Argh.

I am stuck (I think) because for some reason I have the wrong command to unzip the package file. It copied over and saved to the server fine. BUT for some reason when I type in the last two commands described in the tutorial Putty does not recognize the directory and then has trouble with the suffix.... Here are my commands....

gzip -d Joomla_1.5.3_to_1.5.7-Stable-Patch_Package.tar.gz
    The tar.gz file now has a .tar extension so type:
    tar -xvf Joomla_1.5.3_to_1.5.7-Stable-Patch_Package.tar

and I get a no such file or directory.

Oh wise Forum!! I would so appreciate anyone's help. I know sometimes its a trial dealing with a newbie, but I can promise good karma might abound. (?)

Quote Originally Posted by nbm View Post

gzip -d Joomla_1.5.3_to_1.5.7-Stable-Patch_Package.tar.gz
    The tar.gz file now has a .tar extension so type:
    tar -xvf Joomla_1.5.3_to_1.5.7-Stable-Patch_Package.tar

and I get a no such file or directory.
    Did you actually check that your unzip operation had worked by listing the directory afterwards with ls?