Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
Hi guys I need your help please. Ihave an aspire one with linpus lite. Shutdown or sleep doesn't work, always loops in restart. I changed notification manager xfce to notification ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    13

    linpus lite shutdown don't work


    Hi guys
    I need your help please. Ihave an aspire one with linpus lite. Shutdown or sleep doesn't work, always loops in restart.
    I changed notification manager xfce to notification manager without xfce ,no change. I run recovery cd ,no change. I format hard drive with kill disk and installed new linpus still the same.
    I get the error message:

    shutdown -h new
    /sbin/shutdown: line 3: /home/user/.gsynaptics/syn.conf: Permission denied
    sed: couldn't open temporary file /home/user/.gsynaptics//sedvnaTv3: Permission denied
    rm: cannot remove `/usr/bin/xfce4-session-logout': Permission denied
    ltris: no process killed
    /sbin/alsactl: save_state:1278: Cannot open /etc/alsa/asound.state for writing: Permission denied
    Sorry, only the superuser can change the Hardware Clock.
    rm: cannot remove `/.autofsck': Permission denied
    mount: only root can do that
    kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] pid | jobspec ... or kill -l [sigspec]
    kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] pid | jobspec ... or kill -l [sigspec]
    kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] pid | jobspec ... or kill -l [sigspec]
    kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] pid | jobspec ... or kill -l [sigspec]
    /sbin/shutdown: line 34: /sys/power/fastpoweroff: Permission denied
    shutdown: you must be root to do that!


    I'm new with linux and need your help don't know what to do anymore!
    Thank's
    Andy

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Big River, Sask, Canada
    Posts
    342
    I'm not sure what type of root account linpus has, so here are 3 commands that may work. You will need to give your password(sudo) or root password(su, gksu)
    Code:
    sudo shutdown -h now
    Code:
    gksu shutdown -h now
    Code:
    su shutdown -h now
    Hopefully, one of those will work.
    Registered Linux User #420832

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    13

    new

    I found out if I'm on battery it works, if I'm on power I still have the same problem.
    ???????????

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Big River, Sask, Canada
    Posts
    342
    That is weird. It seems as though it's only activated on battery power, and Acer decided that it doesn't need to sleep when plugged in. I'm not sure where to look to change it, but it should have something to do with acpi. Check the bios to see if it can be enabled at all times.
    Registered Linux User #420832

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    13

    Bios

    Hi Hal
    I know what acpi is but don't know how to find it in bios I'm not an expert. In the bios all is enabled. I flash the bios from v3309 to v3308 to give it a try but this doesn't change anything either.
    I'm sure you're right is not in the software but where?
    Slowly I become crazy with Acer.

  7. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Big River, Sask, Canada
    Posts
    342
    Since I don't have an Acer one, I'm totally unfamiliar with linpus, but from what I hear it is a poor distribution of linux. So if I had one, I'd probably install easy peasy or Ubuntu notebook remix instead. However, somewhere in the root filesystem, there is something dealing with acpi, maybe under /proc or /etc. Finding it will take a while, but to get suspend working properly you will need to find it and copy what it shows, so we can figure out if it can be changed.
    Registered Linux User #420832

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    13
    Thank you I will try my best. I hear acer$one (is based on ubunto) should be good and easy, I will try to install it.
    Thanks again
    Andy

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    13
    Hi Hal
    Can't access acpi folder need nautilus manager but if I try to download I get a error message.
    What I can see under acpi/etc is this:
    /var/log/acpid {

    missingok

    notifempty

    size=64k

    postrotate

    /etc/init.d/acpid condrestart >/dev/null || :

    endscript

    }

    # sample configuration file for gpm-root
    # edit it to please your taste....

    button 1 {
    name "ttys"

    "" f.nop
    "login on a new tty" f.mktty
    "" f.nop
    "tty 1" f.jptty "1"
    "tty 2" f.jptty "2"
    "tty 3" f.jptty "3"
    "tty 4" f.jptty "4"
    "" f.nop
    "tty 5" f.jptty "5"
    "tty 6" f.jptty "6"
    "tty 7" f.jptty "7"
    "tty 8" f.jptty "8"
    "" f.nop
    "more of them..." {

    "tty 9" f.jptty "9"
    "tty 10" f.jptty "10"
    "tty 11" f.jptty "11"
    "tty 12" f.jptty "12"
    "" f.nop
    "tty 13" f.jptty "13"
    "tty 14" f.jptty "14"
    "tty 15" f.jptty "15"
    "tty 16" f.jptty "16"
    "" f.nop
    "more of them..." {
    "tty 17" f.jptty "17"
    }
    }

    }

    button 2 {
    name "system status"
    foreground red
    background black
    border yellow
    head bright yellow

    "" f.nop
    "%b %d %Y" f.time
    "%H:%M" f.time
    "" f.nop
    "load: " f.load
    "free:" f.free
    "" f.nop
    "report disk usage to ~/du" f.bgcmd "du ~ | sort -rn > ~/du"
    "print mail headers to tty" f.bgcmd
    "grep '^From ' /var/spool/mail/$USER | tail"
    }

    button 3 {
    name "far ttys"

    foreground black
    background red
    border bright yellow
    head bright yellow

    "tty 9" f.jptty "9"
    "tty 10" f.jptty "10"
    "tty 11" f.jptty "11"
    "tty 12" f.jptty "12"
    "" f.nop

    "tty 13" f.jptty "13"
    "tty 14" f.jptty "14"
    "tty 15" f.jptty "15"
    "tty 16" f.jptty "16"
    "" f.nop

    # I use this to halt and reboot the system, but it isn't wise to put it
    # in widely accessible boxes.
    #
    # "----" f.nop
    # "" f.nop
    # "halt" f.bgcmd "/sbin/shutdown -h now"
    # "reboot" f.bgcmd "/sbin/shutdown -r now"

    Can you do something with this?
    Thanks for all your effort
    Andy

  10. #9
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Big River, Sask, Canada
    Posts
    342
    My filesystem has this in var/log/acpid:
    [Sun Aug 16 07:48:02 2009] logfile reopened
    [Thu Aug 20 23:43:33 2009] exiting
    [Sat Dec 31 16:00:59 2005] starting up
    [Sat Dec 31 16:00:59 2005] 74 rules loaded
    [Sat Dec 31 16:01:02 2005] client connected from 5831[111:123]
    [Sat Dec 31 16:01:02 2005] 1 client rule loaded
    [Sat Dec 31 16:01:05 2005] client connected from 6002[0:0]
    [Sat Dec 31 16:01:05 2005] 1 client rule loaded
    [Sat Dec 31 16:01:07 2005] client connected from 6002[0:0]
    [Sat Dec 31 16:01:07 2005] 1 client rule loaded
    I guess that the difference between Ubuntu and linpus is huge.
    Registered Linux User #420832

  11. #10
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Big River, Sask, Canada
    Posts
    342
    That is a bit more voluminous than my Mint laptop, but I don't see anything in it to help us either. Mint is more like the Ubuntu one I posted above. I couldn't find anything remotely like that on my AntiX installation. I'm afraid I've reached the level of my own incompetence on this one.
    Registered Linux User #420832

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •