Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
If someone has answers... I downloaded Mepis 8.0 32 bit using Bittorrent. I used PowerISO to burn the image at the slowest speed. I get an error message during the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! M_Mungo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    Posts
    51

    Mepis Installation Issue


    If someone has answers... I downloaded Mepis 8.0 32 bit using Bittorrent. I used PowerISO to burn the image at the slowest speed. I get an error message during the boot from the CD:

    "8254 timer not connected to IO-APIC"

    "can't find Mepis file system..."

    I found some forums that explain that "noapic" input somewhere could resolve the issue. If this is the case:

    1) Will this command lessen the performance of my PC?

    2) Where do I input this "noapic". Even though I installed and customized Ubuntu on 2 PCs, I still consider myself a novice and need to be walked through what might be considered simple stuff.

    Ubuntu is working great. Much better than XP. I am really interested in using a distro with KDE to see the difference with KDE and Gnome.

    I appreciate any help. Thanks


    DUAL BOOTING
    OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Professional
    Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3 Build 2600
    OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
    System Name MUNGO-8BF280D64
    System Manufacturer Dell Inc
    System Model Dimension E521
    System Type X86-based PC
    Processor x86 Family 15 Model 79 Stepping 2 AuthenticAMD ~2004 Mhz
    BIOS Version/Date Dell Inc 1.1.11, 8/2/2007
    SMBIOS Version 2.4
    Windows Directory C:\WINDOWS
    System Directory C:\WINDOWS\system32
    Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
    Locale United States
    Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "5.1.2600.5512 (xpsp.080413-2111)"
    User Name MUNGO-8BF280D64\Michael
    Time Zone Eastern Daylight Time
    Total Physical Memory 2,560.00 MB
    Available Physical Memory 1.95 GB
    Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
    Available Virtual Memory 1.96 GB
    Page File Space 5.94 GB
    Page File C:\pagefile.sys

  2. #2
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    4,091
    Where do I input this "noapic".
    When you boot up the cd and the grub menu choices screen pops up. That is when you type it in. It will show up on the bottom of the screen.

    Just curious if you checked the md5sum of torrent file.

    Cheatcodes - MEPIS Documentation Wiki
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  3. #3
    Just Joined! M_Mungo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    Posts
    51
    I added "noapic". I did not receive the error message but, I still received a message that says "Can't find Mepis file system, sorry. Dropping you to a (very limited) shell. Press reset button to quit. /static/ash; can't access tty; job control turned off mepis#"

    Maybe I should have checked the md5sum (if I knew how) because, I now have 5 new coasters. Any ideas?

  4. #4
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    4,091
    I am guessing that you are using Windows since you said you were using Bit Torrent. Below Link covers Linux and Windows.

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowToMD5SUM
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  5. #5
    Just Joined! gnuuser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    northwestern Pa, usa
    Posts
    69
    [verify the md5 sum but as far as a iso burner download infra recorder it is free and reliable. I have a collection of over 150 linux distros burned to cd all using infra recorder

  6. #6
    Just Joined! M_Mungo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    Posts
    51
    I used the boot disk on another PC: No problems. For some reason, the first PC I tried wouldn't let me install.

    My new issue is, having compiz automatically start on Mepis. I created a link in .kde/autostart to the compiz executable file but, I get prompted at startup to select a program to open.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •