Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am no expert at Linux dev, but i have been looking for a Linux distro designed for robotics. so why would i wan't such a thing if a robot ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Lightbulb RoboLinux idea

I am no expert at Linux dev, but i have been looking for a Linux distro designed for robotics. so why would i wan't such a thing if a robot is basically a small computer on its own? well many times the micro controllers are a bit limiting. you can buy better ones for insanely high prices but really its easier to connect the micro controller to a laptop and have the laptop handle everything. with this configuration there is no limit.

after looking around for a few years i finally came to the conclusion there is no such thing as a Robot Linux distro. so then i realized there should be such a thing. and if there is not such a thing. then i will be happy to help build it.

however i cannot build it on my own. i am pretty bad a C++ although i do know C and i am horrible at assembly.

so the next question is who thinks this could work? and who's willing to help?

on the more technical side, what should it be based on? LFS, Debian, Arch, the bare kernel? or something else entirely? if we can decide on these things then i will start a sourceforge project and get started with anyone who would like to help.

so what would a RoboLinux have that any other distro does not have?

• it would have to be light weight,
    • provide easy support for any drivers, including custom built ones.
    • it would provide support for as many micro controllers as possible.
    • it would have to include Bluetooth, parallel, and serial support.
    • perhaps an easy way to connect to OpenCV vision library.
    • text to speech, speech to text support.
    • Wireless network support for internet controlled robots.
    • one or more good ides.