Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all! First off I would like to say im new to this forums but not to linux in general, I have Ubuntu Karmic running on my machine and I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Unhappy Damn Small Linux cards not recognized

Hello all! First off I would like to say im new to this forums but not to linux in general, I have Ubuntu Karmic running on my machine and I am very active on the ubuntu forums so I THINK im not a complete noob, but Im still rookie in linux terms.

My problem regarding my laptop (Acer Aspire 5810TZ). I got Damn Small Linux (DSL) running on my USB drive without any problem, BUT, NONE of my network cards are working under DSL, its pretty weird because I have read everywhere that my type of card is recognized and configured "out of the box"

They both work in ubuntu like a charm so I figured that I could just see the driver that my Ubuntu installation is using and put the very same driver on DSL, problem is I dont know how to do it. Hence the laptop has not internet connectivity I cannot download packages or compile software because I dont have the build-essential installed or things like that.

I want it to work on the laptop because thats where I would install the MyDSL extensions and tweak the system to my needs, so I really need the help.

lspci recognizes the devices like this:
    Code:
    - Network Controller [0280] Atheros Communications Inc. Unknown Device [168c:002a] (rev01)

- Ethernet Controller [0200] : Attansic Technology Corp, Unknown Device [1969:1063] (rev c0)
    However, ifconfig doesnt show the devices, it just shows the loopback interface.

I tried loading this:

Code:
    modprobe ath_pci
    its suppossed to work right after I do this, but still the devices does not show on ifconfig.

Atheros chipset for wireless is AR928X.

If you need any other thing just let me know. Thanks in advance for the help.