Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi Forum, This is my first post her, so Greetz to all of you gents... I may be new to Crux, but not to Linux in general, started may years ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Anyone for Crux Linux here...?

Hi Forum,

This is my first post her, so Greetz to all of you gents...

I may be new to Crux, but not to Linux in general, started may years ago with RHEL4 x64 /Fedora, jumped to OpenSUSE/CentOS, then came the Buntus, and now i have two workstations in my Lab ( I am an aerospace engineer, most of the apps that I use are non-commercial software compiled from source, and are real RAM/CPU hogs, I do a lot of 3D modelling, F.E.A., C.F.D, Genetic optimization, and mathematical prototyping of control systems (design/analysis) ) with FreeBSD Current, and CaeLinux, and two Lappies, one with Slackware64 1
    3 ( great distro btw ) and the other with Debian Lenny 64...

So... i kinda' know my way around... but being new to Crux, I want to ask a few questions... :

#1) I want to install Crux to an external USB HDD in one of the lappies, I wont have a wired internet connection to do so, so after installing the packages, and compiling my kernel, will I be able to enable X, wireless and some other basic stuff...?

( I have already tinkered a bit with Arch, and I did this after wget(ting) the whole repos core, contrib, and base to a folder and building my own local repo, but Arch is binary based.... while Crux is ports based... think this approach wont work w/ Crux...)