Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Howdy from Montana, where it's 10 degrees F out, a good time to be inside working on our network. We are longtime Devil Linux users. For years, we have run ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Montana USA
    Posts
    3

    [SOLVED] Devil Linux wireless set up questions


    Howdy from Montana, where it's 10 degrees F out, a good time to be inside working on our network.

    We are longtime Devil Linux users. For years, we have run Devil on a "gateway" Pentium machine, equipped with two ethernet boards, to protect our household LAN computers.

    Now we want wireless, too, in addition to our wired network, which we want to keep. I have assigned a computer to the updated job and we are trying to configure Devil Linux 1.4RC1, which I recently downloaded and burned to CDR. (Configuration on floppy.) The new gateway machine has:
    A) an on-motherboard Intel 82801 assigned to eth0, running Devil's e100 driver happily. It is CAT5e connected to our Paradyne 6211 ADSL modem.
    B) a PCI RTL8029(AS) assigned to eth1, running the realtek driver happily. It is CAT5e connected to our LAN.
    C) a PCI Belkin Wireless G Desktop Card - Atheros AR2413 802.11bg, assigned in Devil's setup to eth2. running the ath5k driver. It is not happy on boot; Devil reports eth2 as [IPv4]SIOCSIFADDR No such device [FAILED]. I did ask Devil to set up DMZFW3, the three network-card firewall.

    Our wireless testing equipment is scanty - we have two laptops with wireless. One runs Ubuntu which did not work with the wireless on campus, and one runs Slackware with untested wireless. We also have a new Wii, which presumably has working wireless if we configure it right.

    At this time, after a day's configuration work, our wired LAN members do have their normal access to the Internet through the new gateway. I've put several hours into the wireless setup, and feel I'm to the point where I could really benefit from some help from forum members who understand wireless setup for Devil.

    Here's what I think I've figured out so far:
    ath5k sets up device wlan0, not eth2
    I can log in the to gateway as root, and then interactively configure the wireless card:
    ifconfig wlan0 (LAN ip I want to point the wireless at, as the wireless gateway/access point) netmask 255.255.255.0
    iwconfig wlan0 essid (security alphanumeric SSID string, currently 8 chrs)
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    iwconfig wlan0 mode managed key (security WEP string hex 10 digits)
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    ifconfig and iwconfig now see wlan0
    save-config does not make these configuration changes last through the next boot, nor does going into setup and choosing "Save your configuration".

    When I configure manually as shown above, ifconfig wlan0 says UP BROADCAST MULTICAST, but when I test with the Wii, it is not successful. (Wii setup: Wireless connection/manual setup/SSID to match/WEP to match/advanced IPs/advanced DNSs/no proxy). The Wii manual's troubleshooting says "check the signal strength", but doesn't explain how. (I assume the default wlan0 Frequency: 2.412 GHz is OK for the Wii as the Wii manual does not specify what the unit can accept.)

    I copied etc-mods.tar.bz2 from the Devil configuration floppy to another (Win2000pro) machine and used 7zip to extract etc-mods.tar, which can then be opened with WinZip. The etc-mods\sysconfig\nic\ifcfg-eth2 file contains
    DEVICE=eth2
    ONBOOT=yes
    MODULE="ath5k"
    DHCP=no
    IP="(LAN ip I want to point the wireless user machines at)"
    NETMASK="255.255.255.0"
    BROADCAST="(LAN ip I want to point the wireless users at except the last number is replaced by .255)"

    I'd like to try setting DEVICE=wlan0, but I don't know how to put the changed file back into the archive so that it appears in the right place to Devil.

    I've got the Devil 1.3 documentation up on another machine for reference.

    Questions I'd love answered:
    A) Is Devil's "DMZ" network card setup appropriate for what I'm trying to do? I don't understand DMZ very well. Wikipedia has a rundown at DMZ_(computing), which I read with partial understanding.
    B) How do I tell Devil to use wlan0 as eth2?
    C) How do I get the wlan0 ip etc configuration to save/load?
    D) iwconfig says wlan0's Access Point: Not-Associated. Is this proper?
    E) What range should I expect from the wireless service? The wireless devices are a couple of rooms away from my gateway machine. It's an old frame house. Do I need to move the Wii closer to the gateway or vice versa to get a good test?

    Thank you for your patience in reading through my description. I look forward to comments and tips from those who know.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    58

    Connecting the dots.

    Point C at the top.
    Devil is looking for eth2 on the card and can't find it - possibly (hardware level). Can you assign it differently? What does the Atheros site have in info?

    Then, in general read you post again and compare closely the points at the top with your need to know's at the bottom. This is no spoof answer, it is what I call checking around your feet - catches me out every time:- I've done this, but can't do that. What is the connection? Usually the blindingly short one.

    A DMZ is a De-Militarized Zone, became known in the Nam war. Here it is your network behind the firewall. Your firewall PC most likely has a static IP address for your internal network and a dynamic address for the world to see - all depends on how it is set up. This address info is not relevant to your problem, it merely goes to show there is understandable structure in it all.

    There are two very useful things to do. Google in general to see what you can find in terms of OEM's (Original Equipment Manufacturers - hardware etc) and search Linux forums. Use your post to find key words. Search engines thankfully are not perfect. Going off at a tangent, it may just throw up exactly what you need - just like that!

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4,205
    Howdy KGHN. Welcome to the forum. Carsto brings up some good points. I might also point out that I don't know of any Devil Linux users that can reply to your Query. However. If you post your query in the Wireless Internet - Linux Forums section of the forum after posting relevent info following these directions from http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/wir...tart-here.html
    because those readouts you post will help members trouble shoot your problem and you will get more looks in that section of the forum.

    Must have your weather down here in southwest Tx. Cold here to.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Montana USA
    Posts
    3
    Hello, Carsto and rokytnji, thank you for your kind replies.

    Carsto, I did several hours of studying Devil's documentation, thinking, trial and error, and Googling before posting. My hardware is used and the wireless card in particular is of unknown quality. I haven't done much wireless work to date, so I'm learning quite a bit on this project. I worked with parallel port and ethernet Little Big LAN networks for years (while expensive Novelle was big), and have some, more recent, experience with Windows networking but am not an expert. I am a tech support person with over 30 years experience, and am pretty good at 'net research.
    I am gradually finding things out about Devil's setup, but there is a lot that is not documented. I really would be best helped by someone who knows Devil specifically. Much of the linux documentation I have found through Google says, "for Red Hat, do this, for Ubuntu, do that", and no one mentions Devil. Devil's documentation doesn't say which releases it is related to, so I can't assume that any one method is probably correct for me.

    Rokytnji, thank you for pointing me toward the correct forum to ask my questions in, and to directions for posting relevant info for you gurus. I have been making some good discoveries on my own since my post, and I also got a few very helpful tips from an actual Devil user elsewhere. I gather what I'm asking Devil to do is somewhat unusual. I'm still following several leads, and I'm not up and running on wireless yet, so I'll post a new batch of questions where you suggest in a few days. If I can't post a *solved* followup here, that is.

    KGHN

  6. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4,205
    Just use the thread tools to mark your thread as solved above your first post when you are ready to do so.

    Don't be fooled by my Guru Status. I am still Learning myself. Lot's of stuff I still don't know how to do yet. I am just a knuckle dragging tattoed Linux using Biker. Happy Trails and Good Luck.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    58
    Hi KGHN,
    You could blow me over. Yesterday we were at mom's in a different town and I toted the Aspire and usb sticks along to do some reading.

    Just about the first piece was a saved Wiki on Installing madwifi on Gentoo if I remember correctly. Just about ten lines down comes the statement "ath0 is not available during boot up". Just like that.

    I'm under pressure right now so I will look up detail tonight and let you know.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Montana USA
    Posts
    3

    How the project turned out

    Hello, all, and thanks for your attention and help. It became clear my wireless card was not easily capable of being an access point under Linux, and I found little advice about setting Devil Linux up with an Ad Hoc wireless service. So, I took the advice of a helpful person at Devil-linux-discuss and bought a used Linksys Wireless G (WRT54G ver6) router on eBay.

    Last night I got the Access Point working, and as I had to draw together many sites' and manuals' info I will share with you how I ended up doing it.

    My goal: to provide secure wireless access to our network behind our Devil Linux gateway-to-the-Internet dedicated firewall machine. All devices using fixed IPs, including our ADSL connection.
    My solution: I set up a Linksys WRT54G (Wireless G) router as an Infrastructure Access Point on an CAT5e wired network.
    Here we go:

    ***Changing the WRT54G's IP disables access via your browser until the computer's IP is changed to match the first three groups of numbers (with netmask 255.255.255.0), so I did that last.***
    1) The WRT54G should not be connected to the LAN during initial configuration.
    2) Connect a standalone computer's Ethernet into one of the four WRT54G LAN ports (not its Internet port.)
    3) Reset the WRT54G by holding its reset button for 15 seconds with power connected. Wait for the power light to stop blinking.
    4) (Win2000pro) CtrlPanel >> Network & Dialup Connections >> RtClick Ethernet >> click Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) >> click Properties >> set IP address to 192.168.1.3 ...OK OK, minimize window.
    5) In Firefox or Internet Explorer enter URL/Address 192.168.1.1 and give Username (none) Password Admin, Linksys config utility now showing.
    6) Setup Basic Setup: Internet Connection type Automatic Configuration - DHCP, Router name [optional name], domain name [optional name], DHCP server DISABLE, set time zone ...Save settings.
    7) Setup DDNS disable, MAC disable, Advanced Routing Operating Mode ***ROUTER***, Dynamic Routing Disabled, no static routing ...Save settings.
    Wireless SSID [name], SSID Broadcast [enable for now] ...Save settings.
    9) Wireless security mode WPA2 Personal/AES (best security compatible with Wii), key [10 chr hex string] ...Save settings.
    10) MAC filter disable, Advanced Wireless Secure Easy Setup DISABLE ...Save settings.
    11) Security leave defaults alone, Access Restrictions leave disabled, Applications & Gaming leave disabled.
    12) Administration set new password, wireless access web enable, remote management disable ...Save settings.
    13) It will ask you to login again. Enter new password for continued access.
    14) Log disable, config management BACKUP to file.
    15) Status - firmware version should be v1.02.7 build 011, Jul. 27.2009 (as of 12/2009) I updated our firmware with the file from Linksys' site. It was easy. I did plug the router into a UPS for the procedure. Updating did not lose my saved configuration.
    16) Return to Setup - Basic Setup. Change Local IP Address to one in your fixed-IP LAN range...Save settings. It says "Settings are successful. Please release/renew IP. "Close" button doesn't work in Firefox, but does close IE.
    17) Restore the Network window, go back to TCP/IP properties (see step 4). Set IP address to the machine's proper one in your fixed-IP LAN range. OK OK
    1 Unplug WRT54G's power cord, wait 20 seconds. While you are waiting, plug an Ethernet cable into one of your LAN's ports and one of the WRT54G's LAN ports. (NOT the Internet port.) Replug the WRT54G's power cord, wait for the power light to stop blinking.
    19) The machine should now have net access, and the WRT54G's WLAN light should be lit. Entering the URL of the WRT54G's Local IP Address should make it ask for the (new) password, and the Linksys config utility then shows.
    20) Once wireless user devices are configured & working, I believe we can disable SSID Broadcast for greater security without disturbing user connections. I plan to do this.

    Good luck to anyone with a similar project. I hope this post helps.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •