Find the answer to your Linux question:
Greetings, I'm new to Linux but not to computers. I recently installed MEPIS 8.0 after enjoying my experience with it as a Live CD. After about a week of using ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

GRUB won't load after installation

Greetings,

I'm new to Linux but not to computers. I recently installed MEPIS 8.0 after enjoying my experience with it as a Live CD. After about a week of using it, I decided to remove WinXP since I didn't want to upgrade to Win7, and I installed MEPIS Linux as my only OS. Now that MEPIS is installed, I can't boot with it from the hard drive. GRUB never comes up at all and I get a flashing underscore with a dark screen. I have no other OS installed either and I only use one SATA hard drive. GRUB was installed to the MBR.

I tried rebooting with the LiveCD and I used the System MEPIS Assistant ->Repair System Boot and reinstalled GRUB to the MBR. I made sure "Use initrd" was checked. This didn't work. I then tried installing it to the root partition using this same menu--this didn't work either. Below is /sda1/boot/grub/menu.lst

Code:
    timeout 15
    color cyan/blue white/blue
    foreground ffffff
    background 0639a1

gfxmenu /boot/grub/message

title MEPIS at sda1, newest kernel
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 nomce quiet splash vga=791 
    initrd /boot/initrd.img
    boot

title MEPIS at sda1, previous kernel (if any)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz.old root=/dev/sda1 nomce quiet splash vga=791 
    boot

title MEPIS at sda1, kernel 2.6.27-1-mepis-smp
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.27-1-mepis-smp root=/dev/sda1 nomce quiet splash vga=791 
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.27-1-mepis-smp
    boot

title MEMTEST
    kernel /boot/memtest86+.bin