Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hi, Could someone please tell me how to install Adobe flash player ? I tried downloading from the website , wasn't sure which type of file to install so I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    12

    Question Installing adobe flash player on Scientific Linux


    Hi, Could someone please tell me how to install Adobe flash player ? I tried downloading from the website , wasn't sure which type of file to install so I just installed a .rpm file??? I have the file on my desktop now but no idea what to do with it!
    I also tried typing : sudo apt-get install flashplugin non-free
    but I got an answer that the command does not exist!

    Thank you!!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Scientific Linux is RedHat based and .rpm package is correct for RH based distros.
    Execute this in Terminal
    Code:
    cd Desktop
    su -c rpm -i <.rpm_package_name>
    Post error message here, if any.

    I would suggest you to use Package Manager 'yum' instead of manual installation.
    Code:
    su -c yum -y install flash-plugin
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    sudo apt-get install flashplugin non-free
    apt-get is specifically a tool for debian based systems.

    yum is the equivalent of apt-get for RHEL/Fedora based systems.
    PackageManagement/Yum - CentOS Wiki
    Managing Software with yum

    And rpm is the RHEL equivalent of Debian's dpkg tool.
    Chapter*10.*Package Management with RPM

    Guide for installing flash in RHEL/CentOS/Scientific Linux:
    Open The Linux!: How to install flash player on centos/redhat linux !

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    12
    Thank you for the useful info!!!
    I just checked youtube again and I seem to have adobeflashplayer now by just having just downloaded the .rpm file, since anything else I did in the terminal was giving me errors before!
    Is that possible? Just interested to know what happened really!

    Thanks!

  6. #5
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Is that possible? Just interested to know what happened really!
    Nope. I can only assume that you did successfully install flash at some point and didn't notice.

    Do
    Code:
    rpm -qa --last > rpm.log
    This will create a log, sorted by date I believe, of installed packages. Open the file rpm.log up in a text editor or whatnot to see the output.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    12

    Thumbs up

    Interesting! Thank you!

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    12

    Unhappy

    hi, my computer had to be changed and I tried to install flashpplayer again but this time I couldn't do it and I don't really know how i managed to do it the first time.
    After installing the .rpm file, I used the command:

    cd Desktop
    su -c rpm -i <.rpm_package_name>

    well to being with I was not sure what the package and the name are since the .rpm file is called:
    flash-plugin-10.0.42.34-release.i386(2).rpm so I tried :
    su -c flash-plugin-10.0.42.34-release.i386(2).rpm and that was wrong. I also tried
    rpm -Uvh flash-plugin-10.0.42.34-release.i386(2).rpm
    and that didnt work either.
    Any help would be appreciated again. Thank you!

  9. #8
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Check out the links in my first response above.

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    12

    Wink

    aaah!! I Stupid me!! sorry for missing the links out! I managed to do it now . the rpm link is very clear. Thanks alot!

    So in case someone else has the same prob and like me is new to linux all u need to do is install the .rpm file online. Then log in as root and type the following command at a shell prompt:

    rpm -Uvh foo-1.0-1.i386.rpm
    where 'oo-1.0-1.i386.rpm' is the name of the .rpm file that u have just installed online. This link which was suggestedpretty much explains everything if u are using a .rpm file!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •