Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
Hi I have a atheros LAN driver by default. Lucky for me it is integrated into my distro's Kernel. But it no longer works. I have tried to reconfigure my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    112

    [SOLVED] Reinstalling Kernel Integrated Network / LAN Driver...


    Hi

    I have a atheros LAN driver by default. Lucky for me it is integrated into my distro's Kernel.

    But it no longer works.

    I have tried to reconfigure my network connection manually, and have both stopped & Restarted WiCD, unplugged my modem & router too. I have verified that the LAN works on laptop "B", just not on laptop "A". Laptop "C" [Windowzz Vista] USEs WIRED EXCLUSIVELY. I have changed the CaT 5 cables too. WiCD detects my card as LAN0, BTW. Both in WiCD Manager & Terminal.

    So I am guessing I need to reinstall the driver in the Kernel then ? I just dunno how.

    I also have no idea what else to try either.

    Any help ?

    Thanks !

  2. #2
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    What distro are you using?

    Please post the output of
    Code:
    lsmod
    lspci -vnn
    dmesg
    The last will be long, so please use code tags.

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    112
    Last edited by SA.com; 02-06-2010 at 01:16 AM. Reason: post too long, I'd get banned if i left it here like it was....

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    112
    Last edited by SA.com; 02-06-2010 at 01:53 AM. Reason: fixed post, I hope...

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    112
    please see lspci output

    output too long to post here...
    Last edited by SA.com; 02-06-2010 at 01:11 AM. Reason: typpo

  6. #6
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    What is the output of
    Code:
    uname -a
    Your ethernet uses the atl1c driver, which is not loading. This driver was included in the kernel starting with release 2.6.29.

    Did you say it was working and then stopped? If it was working, try (as root)
    Code:
    modprobe atl1c
    ifconfig eth0 up
    dhclient eth0

  7. #7
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Quote Originally Posted by SA.com
    output too long to post here...
    That's why I asked you to use code tags.

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    112
    Quote Originally Posted by reed9 View Post
    That's why I asked you to use code tags.
    yep. I wasn't sure how to go about it, so it is permanently on my server.

    My permanent contribution to the community !

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    112
    Quote Originally Posted by reed9 View Post
    What is the output of
    Code:
    uname -a
    Your ethernet uses the atl1c driver, which is not loading. This driver was included in the kernel starting with release 2.6.29.

    Did you say it was working and then stopped? If it was working, try (as root)
    Code:
    modprobe atl1c
    ifconfig eth0 up
    dhclient eth0
    Restarting tasks ... <7>wlan0: deauthenticated
    wlan0: direct probe to AP 00:22:75:da:64:c7 try 1
    done.
    wlan0 direct probe responded
    wlan0: authenticate with AP 00:22:75:da:64:c7
    wlan0: authenticated
    wlan0: associate with AP 00:22:75:da:64:c7
    wlan0: RX ReassocResp from 00:22:75:da:64:c7 (capab=0x401 status=0 aid=2)
    wlan0: associated
    APIC error on CPU0: 00(40)
    steve@SteveWilliams:~$ uname -a
    Linux SteveWilliams 2.6.28.5-1-i686-dream #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Feb 13 20:42:53 EET 2009 i686 GNU/Linux
    steve@SteveWilliams:~$

  10. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    112
    I am thinking Arch is Debian based, but perhaps dreamlinux 3.5 de has a few different commands to it ??

    I also tried it as Root.

    ~ yes, it worked fine from the start then just quit, wireless is
    ok though. I just havn't had the time to mess with it, but I really need it.


    wlan0: associated
    APIC error on CPU0: 00(40)
    steve@SteveWilliams:~$ uname -a
    Linux SteveWilliams 2.6.28.5-1-i686-dream #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Feb 13 20:42:53 EET 2009 i686 GNU/Linux
    steve@SteveWilliams:~$ modprobealic
    bash: modprobealic: command not found
    steve@SteveWilliams:~$ modprobe alic
    bash: modprobe: command not found
    steve@SteveWilliams:~$ modprobe al1c
    bash: modprobe: command not found
    steve@SteveWilliams:~$ ifconfig eth0 up
    bash: ifconfig: command not found
    steve@SteveWilliams:~$ dhclient eth0
    bash: dhclient: command not found
    steve@SteveWilliams:~$ su
    Password:
    root@SteveWilliams:/home/steve# modprobe atl1c
    FATAL: Module atl1c not found.
    root@SteveWilliams:/home/steve# ifconfig eth0 up
    eth0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    root@SteveWilliams:/home/steve# dhclient eth0
    There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.pid with pid 21171
    killed old client process, removed PID file
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/

    wmaster0: unknown hardware address type 801
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    eth0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    eth0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    wmaster0: unknown hardware address type 801
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    root@SteveWilliams:/home/steve#
    Last edited by SA.com; 02-06-2010 at 01:32 AM. Reason: typpo

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •