Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, i am really a newbie when it comes to linux, ive had this laptop for a while now, and today when i turned it on, the desktop had a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Need help!

Hi,

i am really a newbie when it comes to linux, ive had this laptop for a while now, and today when i turned it on, the desktop had a black and white striped horizontal background. the only things visible were the search bar at the top and the bar at the bottom, help!

Chris

obv remove the (.) and add http at the start (cant post URLs yet)
    Code:
    i757.photobucket.c(.)om/albums/xx217/chris_gurrell/Screenshot-1.png
    EDIT: Just found out this laptop runs Linpus Linux Lite

Wow, that looks like a Zebra on Steroids.

Ctl+Alt+t to open a terminal oe just open terminal from menu since it looks like you still have a taskbar. You will have to be root and then open your File Manager as root (I don't know Linpus operating systems name for its file manager) you are gonna hafta google that. Rename /etc/X11/xorg.conf to /etc/X11/xorg.confbackup.

Reboot and see if it rewrites you a new /etc/X11/xorg.conf file. You might get a Display then. This problem nmay be a hardware problem with the inverter for the display or video card also maybe. I know it sux. Looks tough to deal with.

I know in debian you can do a
    dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
    booting up as single user from grub boot screen. Linpus is Fedora rpm based though instead of debian apt based. So I am out of my league when it comes to rpm distros. I'd wait for another forum member that runs fedora or Redhat or Mandriva beofre I would follow any of my suggestions to be on the safe side. Cuz I am not sure renaming /etc/X11/xorg.conf will acutally generate a new file unless another member confirms this.

Good Luck and Happy trails, Rok
    Linux Registered User # 475019