Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 25 of 25
i just thought of something the computer that i want to install to only has usb 1.1 so that would make it go slower seeing as thats the only thing ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    46

    i just thought of something the computer that i want to install to only has usb 1.1 so that would make it go slower seeing as thats the only thing i can install it from?

    also when you install slackware does that give you the option to install grub or not?
    one other thing when you install slackware can you install it to partitions that are already there? without it's partitioning tool partitioning the hard drive.

    the reason i ask about slackware is that i have it on cd that was with a book that i got from the library. so it would be fairly easy to install it.

  2. #22
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Quote Originally Posted by apemax View Post
    also when you install slackware does that give you the option to install grub or not?
    one other thing when you install slackware can you install it to partitions that are already there? without it's partitioning tool partitioning the hard drive.
    Slackware used to always use LILO as the bootloader, but the GRUB package might be offered on the installation disks now, although I'm not sure if it actually offers the option to use it during the installation, as it's been a few years since I last installed it.

    Yes, you can use pre-prepared partitions for installing Slackware. That method actually works out better/easier for lots of users.
    oz

  3. #23
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    46
    Slackware used to always use LILO as the bootloader, but the GRUB package might be offered on the installation disks now, although I'm not sure if it actually offers the option to use it during the installation, as it's been a few years since I last installed it.

    Yes, you can use pre-prepared partitions for installing Slackware. That method actually works out better/easier for lots of users.
    the version of slackware on the cd i have is 11.0 and the book came out in 2007. if you chose to install LILO would it install it to the mbr or would it install it to the partition?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #24
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,025
    if you chose to install LILO would it install it to the mbr or would it install it to the partition?
    You'll have the option of where you want it installed.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  6. #25
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    46
    sorry for the late reply i forgot. ahh... ok. i think i might try slackware. it'll probably be the easiest to install seeing as i already have it on a cd. thanks for all the help.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •