Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
hi all. i am unable to connect enternet via broadband. i follow all steps correctly please reply....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    63

    Question puppy linux internet connection (broadband)


    hi all.

    i am unable to connect enternet via broadband.

    i follow all steps correctly

    please reply.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    3,190
    Check the ink below which has very specific instructins on connecting to the internet with Puppy:

    Puppy Linux Community - Home

    If you google "puppy linux connect to internet" you will get quite a number of hits. If you have used a tutorial similar to the above and it failed, you will need to post specific information as to when it failed. at which step.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    63
    thanks all

    i followed these instructions but it does not work.
    it doesnt show any error message.

    please peply.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    63
    I am using puppy linux 5.1

    I did downloaded today and installed in my old PC.

    I am able to set up an internet connection (Main Purpose) but I am unable to browse the net using the browser or in any application.
    the eth0 and ppp0 connections are blinking in the taskbar.

    details of connection:
    (I have a Broadband connection which requires a username and password to connect)

    type: PPPOE
    username: ...
    Ethernet Interface: eth0
    Activate on demand: No (the timeout sec is not working)
    DNS address: Supplied by ISP's server
    Firewalling: NONE

    The connection is successful but I am not able to browse the net using the browser or any other application.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    post output of ifconfig command and also contents of /etc/resolv.conf file after you have connected
    Last edited by coopstah13; 08-20-2010 at 05:00 PM. Reason: typo

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    63
    hi coopstah13

    ifconfig result-
    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    ifconfig eth0 result-
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:11:11:0C1:85
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:5 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:9 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:1722 (1.6 KiB) TX bytes:1878 (1.8 KiB)



    the file /etc/resolv.conf is deleted from my system. there is a warning link to /etc/ppp/resolv.conf but this file is also deleted.

    after that i install puppy again. and i foud that file on right place.

    then i try to connect to internet by welcome screen , it opens simple network setup and a eth0 button.
    i click eth0 button it configure successfully.
    then i going to find resolve.conf but it is deleted again.

    then i click eth0 button again but this time it dosent work.

    it show an error log
    "Information about this interface:
    Interface: eth0 Driver: e100 Bus: pci MacAddress: 00:11:11:0C1:85
    Description: Intel(R) PRO/100 Network Driver

    dhcpcd: version 5.1.5 starting
    /lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-hooks/20-resolv.conf: line 64: /etc/resolv.conf: Too many levels of symbolic links
    chmod: cannot access `/etc/resolv.conf': Too many levels of symbolic links
    dhcpcd: eth0: rebinding lease of 192.168.1.2
    dhcpcd: eth0: acknowledged 192.168.1.2 from 192.168.1.1
    dhcpcd: eth0: checking for 192.168.1.2
    dhcpcd: eth0: leased 192.168.1.2 for 86400 seconds
    /lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-hooks/20-resolv.conf: line 64: /etc/resolv.conf: Too many levels of symbolic links
    chmod: cannot access `/etc/resolv.conf': Too many levels of symbolic links
    dhcpcd: forking to background
    dhcpcd: version 5.1.5 starting
    /lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-hooks/20-resolv.conf: line 64: /etc/resolv.conf: Too many levels of symbolic links
    chmod: cannot access `/etc/resolv.conf': Too many levels of symbolic links
    dhcpcd: eth0: broadcasting for a lease
    dhcpcd: eth0: offered 192.168.1.2 from 192.168.1.1
    dhcpcd: eth0: acknowledged 192.168.1.2 from 192.168.1.1
    dhcpcd: eth0: checking for 192.168.1.2
    dhcpcd: eth0: leased 192.168.1.2 for 86400 seconds
    /lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-hooks/20-resolv.conf: line 64: /etc/resolv.conf: Too many levels of symbolic links
    chmod: cannot access `/etc/resolv.conf': Too many levels of symbolic links
    dhcpcd: forking to background
    "

    please help

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •