Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
I have installed Yoper successfully. (or so it would seem) When I boot my computer the Lilo screen comes up. If I pick Windows, Windows XP boots fine. However, when ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3

    Yoper fails on boot- help!


    I have installed Yoper successfully. (or so it would seem) When I boot my computer the Lilo screen comes up. If I pick Windows, Windows XP boots fine. However, when I choose Yoper it hits a problem and stops. If necessary, I will post the last few lines before it stops.

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    119
    that would probably help

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3
    After the line

    ACPI: Subsystem revision 20040326

    it just hangs. I've left it there for a long time, nothing.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    20
    Your BIOS probably has a buggy or nonstandard ACPI implementation,
    this is quite common.

    Try adding "acpi=off" or "pci=noacpi" to the kernel command line in your lilo.conf (you might need a boot disk / cd to do this).


    Steve.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3
    Are you sure? I have an Intel motherboard, so I would think they would use pretty standard stuff, and I've never had trouble with any other Linux installation. I'll try it anyway though, thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •