Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Have been running MacPup 511 and think its great but could anyone tell me how i might take a screenshot please. The Print Scr key on the keyboard is not ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    98

    Screenshot


    Have been running MacPup 511 and think its great but could anyone tell me how i might take a screenshot please. The Print Scr key on the keyboard is not working. Thanks

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by branoo View Post
    Have been running MacPup 511 and think its great but could anyone tell me how i might take a screenshot please. The Print Scr key on the keyboard is not working. Thanks
    The PrtScn button usually does work but after pressing the button you need to paste it into an Image program like Gimp.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    You can also make screenshots through Gimp itself. Go to "File" > "Create" > "Screenshot..."
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  4. #4
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    4,008
    graphics>mtpaint screenshot is in menu.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  5. #5
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    i suppose it depends on the DE? I'm running gnome and when i press print screen button it brings up a dialog that asks me to either save the screenshot or copy to clipboard so i can paste it elsewhere

    also, i have an application installed gnome-screenshot that was installed with gnome-utils that allows me to take a screenshot that way as well

  6. #6
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    4,008
    i suppose it depends on the DE?
    It uses Open Box or JWM coop. In MyWolfe which uses XFCE 4.6. I found it too tedious to open gimp and use it's screenshot utility. So I went with

    Puppy Linux Discussion Forum :: View topic - Pup-Shots Screenshot Utility

    which works quite well actually.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    85
    Quote Originally Posted by branoo View Post
    Have been running MacPup 511 and think its great but could anyone tell me how i might take a screenshot please. The Print Scr key on the keyboard is not working. Thanks
    There is a camera icon on the ibar in macpup by default. That takes a screenshot.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    98
    Thanks for all the help everyone

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie ryptyde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tragic City Michigan USA
    Posts
    232
    Open a terminal and enter:
    Code:
    scrot
    and it should save a screenshot to your desktop
    and you can also enter:
    Code:
    scrot --help
    for more options and/or read the man page:
    Code:
    man scrot
    .

    phil

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •