Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I'm new to Linux and new to this forum as well. I've started to play with Linux for a while, and I'm thinking about programming with it. In this ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Software Installation Dependency issues

Hi,

I'm new to Linux and new to this forum as well. I've started to play with Linux for a while, and I'm thinking about programming with it. In this course, I tried to install Bochs from debian package but when I try to install it with synaptic package manager, it gives lots of dependencies error. I downloaded some of the dependency packages as well but it seems as if there are lots of them. So far I've resolved 30 of the dependency errors but I'm somehow exhausted downloading every single package.
    Isn't there a way to download the complete debian package or some way to automatically install dependent package as well? I'm desperately looking for help.

I'm running Mepis Linux (kernel version 2.6.15-26-386).
    If you need anymore info, just ask and it'll be here.

Thanks in advance.

It has been my experience that Synaptic (The front end for apt-get) resolves dependencies on its own. If you choose to install a package, it finds and installs all the needed dependencies for you. Did it not do this when choosing to install Bochs?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here

Just Joined!
    Thanks for replying.

Well it didn't do that. The linux distro I'm running is 5 years old, which might be one of the possible causes. I tried installing GCC and GNU LD as well, but I got similar result. I'd to install several dependent packages individually which was more than troublesome. I can't go on forever like this. I'm looking for a way out.
    Any ideas? Will switching to new Linux helps? Even then, it'd help to know if there's a workaround for this.
    Thanks.