Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hi, i am trying to setup wifi AP via my laptop (i am using BT5) so i can use easly use my android market on my phone.i folowed this tutorial ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    9

    Creating wifi AP


    Hi, i am trying to setup wifi AP via my laptop (i am using BT5) so i can use easly use my android market on my phone.i folowed this tutorial teh-geek dot com/?p=512 Access Point BackTrack 5 « Teh-Geek.com[/url] everything is working: i can connect to the AP, dhcp is working (getting this ip 192.168.2.129) BUT i cant access internet. when i am trying to ping google.com for example in phones terminal it does nothing it just stuck untill i press ctrl+c. could someone help my please? thx.

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Here. There. Anywhere.
    Posts
    157
    Hm… are you getting an ip address on your phone?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    9
    yea, i getting this ip 192.168.2.130
    Last edited by webkar; 09-01-2011 at 08:55 PM.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    10
    try to ping 8.8.8.8 (thats a google dns server it's safe) if you get a reply then there is something wrong with your dns server

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    9
    i cant ping that neither... only thing that i can ping is the AP itself (192.168.2.129)

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by webkar View Post
    i cant ping that neither... only thing that i can ping is the AP itself (192.168.2.129)
    Hihi webkar.

    Question 1) Have you some kind of problem to navigate somewhere from your laptop when your laptop's wifi interface is set as AP?
    Question 2) Is your android device's GATEWAY correctly set?

    Read U soon.
    Gabo

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    9
    i dont understand first question... i have wired interface eth0 and i dont want to buy wifi AP so i want to use my old laptop as the AP. // i dont know if my getaway is set correctly... if i connect to my neighbour's wifi its working... but the signal is very low so its not very stable and slow as hell...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •